Gonzales Nationals set to compete in Dixie World Series

Staff Writer
Gonzales Weekly Citizen
The Gonzales Nationals celebrate their victory in the USSSA All-Star State Tournament in Livingston.

The Gonzales Nationals All-Star team is made up of players from the seven National League teams voted on by each coach at the end of May. These boys began practice together at that time and have put together a very successful season.

The boys competed in USSSA Coaches Pitch tournaments to prepare for Dixie State tournament play. The Gonzales National’s All-Star team competed in the USSSA All-Star State Tournament in Livingston Parish last month and went undefeated to win the USSSA state championship.

They later competed in the USSSA AA Red Stick Rumble NIT, where they again went undefeated to take home the title, defeating Carrollton Red AA team.

The boys prepared well under head coach Coye Templet and assistants Brad Elisar, Styles Clouatre, Dean Mire and Ryan Desormeaux.

The boys competed in Dixie Youth State 8U machine pitch tournament on July 6-9, in Rayville, battling their way out of the loser’s bracket to win the Dixie state championship. This is the first time a Dixie Youth team (8u-12u) has competed in the Dixie World Series in over two decades.

The Gonzales Nationals won all three pool play games made up of 24 teams to advance to the eight-team championship bracket. Championship bracket play began on July 8. There, the Gonzales Nationals defeated Ruston, 12-7, before falling to East Ouachita, 14-4.

That evening, the Gonzales Nationals defeated Rayville, 5-4. On championship Sunday, the Gonzales Nationals would have to battle their way out of the loser’s bracket, defeating Benton (the favorite in the tournament) 13-2, and then going on to defeat East Ouachita twice—15-4 and 12-0 to be crowned Dixie Youth Machine Pitch state champions.

The team will compete in Dixie World Series in Cleveland, Miss., from July 28-Aug. 1, where they will represent the state of Louisiana and wear LSU purple and gold with “Louisiana” on their chest. They will compete against 12 other southern states for the championship.

Gonzales National team members include: Cooper Templet, Camden Clouatre, Pyke Elisar, Tucker Miller, Jonas Ecker, Cole Desormeaux, Reid Murphy, Brody Mire, Khoen Tripode, Brayden Zeller, Carson Roden and Reese Cummins.