Parish soccer players make all-district team

Kyle Riviere
St. Amant sophomore Adelaide Gaffney was named the District 5 Overall MVP. Photo by Tammy Guadin.

It was another tremendous girl’s soccer season in Ascension Parish, as all three Division-I schools reached the second round of the playoffs.

As a result, the All-District-5 team was filled top to bottom with parish stars.

Earning the highest recognition was the St. Amant Lady Gators.

St. Amant experienced one of their most successful years in program history. They finished the regular season with an overall record of 15-6-1. This included a nine-game winning streak heading into the playoffs.

The Lady Gators went undefeated in district play. This led to them capturing their first district championship in 12 years.

For the second straight season, they won a first-round playoff game, defeating Comeaux, 2-1, before falling to St. Joseph’s Academy in the next round.

For their stellar play, former St. Amant player and current head coach Joleigh Hartman was named the district’s Coach of the Year.

Two of her sophomore stars also received top honors.

Mya Guillory was named the district’s Offensive MVP, and Adelaide Gaffney was crowned the league’s Overall MVP.

After the Lady Gators’ district championship victory over Dutchtown that saw Gaffney score two goals, Hartman said of her, “I give all the credit to my sophomore, Adelaide Gaffney. She has definitely been a playmaker for us this season. She just works hard. She’s been working hard ever since she was a little girl to play soccer, and it shows. You can tell she puts in a lot of hours to be the best soccer player.”

Along with Gaffney and Guillory, juniors Claire Sheets and Maya Lastrapes made the first team.

Junior Sarah Cretini, freshman Blythe Babin and senior goal keeper Jillian Parks were second-team selections.

Dutchtown also fielded many players on the all-district squad.

The Lady Griffins had another strong season, finishing 17-4-5 and finishing as runners-up in the district.

Dutchtown earned the No. 11 seeding in the playoffs and hosted a first-round playoff game. There, they cruised past Sulphur, 3-0.

They dropped a second-round contest against sixth-seeded Dominican.

Due to their strong play, Dutchtown senior Bailey Cyprowski made the all-district first team. Cyprowski is a Mississippi College signee.

Joining her on the first team were freshman Bailey Fournet and sophomore Riley Ely.

The Lady Griffins had five players make the second team in Alyssa Abbot, Sarah Guedry, Delaney Zybko, Paige Megginson and Cassie Louque.

East Ascension lost many key starters heading into this season—including 2016 district Overall MVP and Nicholls State signee Blaire Laiche and parish Defensive MVP Caroline LeCoq.

Still, the Lady Spartans were able to go 9-6-4.

In the playoffs, East Ascension went on the road and upset 14th-seeded West Monroe on penalty kicks.

In the second round, they were beaten by eventual state champion Mount Carmel.

The Lady Spartans had three players make the all-district first team.

Junior goal keeper Maggie Britton highlighted the group. Senior Valeria Gonzalez and junior Michaela Speligene joined her.

Three East Ascension players made the second team in freshman Melisse Speligene and juniors Maylen Mire and Hannah Bernard.