The parish's soccer stars fill all-district and All-State teams

Kyle Riviere @kyleR_sports
Dutchtown's Tyler Sarrazin joined Adam Pittman in making first-team all-district honors for the Griffins. Photo by Dewey Keller.

It was a good year for parish soccer as two teams made it into the second round of the playoffs. The parish-wide success continued with the postseason honors as well with numerous players filling the all-district and All-State teams.

Future Cincinnati Bearcat Rantz Bourgeois highlighted the field as he was selected as the district's Overall MVP.

Bourgeois helped lead St. Amant to the playoffs this year where they beat Grace King 4-2 in the opening round. However, the Gators fell to district foe Catholic in the second round 3-1.

Bourgeois was also named first-team All-State. He was the lone Gator to earn that honor

Joining Bourgeois on the first-team all-district squad was sophomore midfielder Christian Delcid.

On the second team, defenders Trent Cutrer and Dillon Duplessis snagged honors as well as junior midfielder Chase Tibbets.

The East Ascension Spartans had the most first-team all-district selections in the parish with three after their run to the second round of this year's playoffs.

Head coach Kevin Ford was named the district's Coach of the Year while senior Chris Kline, Austin Andrews and Matt Simoneaux all earned first-team honors.

Kline was also the only Spartan to be named first-team All-State.

Senior defender Beau Marabella made the second-team all-district as well as midfielder Trent Anderson and Logan Stewart.

Finally, Dutchtown got their recognition for making a run to the playoffs. It's there where the Griffins were edged out by Mandeville 2-0.

Along with being one of the only two Dutchtown players to make the first team, senior goalkeeper Adam Pittman was also named the district's Defensive MVP, and he was the Griffins' lone member of the All-State team.

Joining Pittman in receiving first-team all-district honors was senior defender Tyler Sarrazin.

Junior defender Brady Bergeron stood alone as the Griffins' lone occupant on the second team.