All-Parish football team released

Kyle Riviere
First-team All-Parish quarterback Hayden Mallory. Photo by DKMoon Photography.

It was another eventful year for Ascension Parish football. Three of the six parish teams made the postseason.

St. Amant finished with Ascension's best record at 8-2 and reached the second round of the playoffs. Dutchtown finished 7-3, won a share of the District 5-5A title and made a second-round playoff appearance as well. East Ascension finished 5-5 and made the postseason for a third straight season.

In Class 3A, Donaldsonville finished 3-7, and in 1A, Ascension Christian went 6-4 but missed out on the postseason. Ascension Catholic went 3-7.

With so many great area athletes having tremendous seasons, here is the Weekly Citizen's 2015 All-Parish Football Team.

Offensive First Team:

Quarterback - Hayden Mallory (St. Amant)

Running backs - Fitell Bolding (Dutchtown), Nathan Taylor (St. Amant)

Wide receivers - Stephen Sullivan (Donaldsonville), Briggs Bourgeois (St. Amant), Cornelius Washington (Dutchtown), Averee York (Dutchtown)

Tight end - Chris Falgoust (Dutchtown)

Tackles - Lloyd Cushenberry (Dutchtown), Gus Gutierrez (East Ascension)

Guards - Mylik McWilliams (Dutchtown), Trevor Fleming (East Ascension)

Center - Prentiss Stanley (St. Amant)

Kicker - Briggs Bourgeois (St. Amant)

Punter - Beau Trabeau (St. Amant)

Athlete - Kyran Irvin (East Ascension)

Defensive First Team:

Defensive linemen - Tyarise Stevenson (Donaldsonville), Elliot Turner (St. Amant), Jayvin Johnson (East Ascension), Garett Stephens (St. Amant)

Linebackers - Terrence Lymon (Dutchtown), Cade Roddy (St. Amant), Sean Pruet (Dutchtown)

Defensive backs - Coney Durr (Dutchtown), Johnny Baker (East Ascension), Rickey Thomas (Dutchtown), Kaleb Winchester (Ascension Catholic)

Returner - Kaleb Winchester (Ascension Catholic)

Offensive Second Team:

QB - Jared Sparks (Dutchtown)

RB - Josh Bates (East Ascension), Kaleb Winchester (Ascension Catholic)

WR - Jaylin Williams (Donaldsonville), Jacob Cheatwood (St. Amant), Peyton Bahlinger (Ascension Christian), LaMarcus Jefferson (East Ascension)

TE - Ira Washington (East Ascension)

T - Josh Banks (St. Amant), Wyatt Walker (St. Amant)

G - Seth Savoy (East Ascension), DJ Giroir (Ascension Catholic)

C - Micah Freeman (Ascension Christian)

K - Cale Kernan (East Ascension)

P - Candon Story (Dutchtown)

A - Tyler Brown (Donaldsonville)

Defensive Second Team:

DL - Ryan Trahan (Dutchtown), Devon Sherman (East Ascension), Justin Harris (East Ascension), Stephen Sullivan (Donaldsonville)

LB - Xavier Anderson (St. Amant), Cole Amedee (Ascension Catholic), Depore Rosemond (Donaldsonville)

DB - Jamie LeBlanc (St. Amant), Patrick Wolfe (St. Amant), Jonathan Bryant (East Ascension), Cody Simmons (St. Amant)

RT - Mark Darby (St. Amant)

Offensive MVP: Stephen Sullivan (Donaldsonville WR - 57 catches for 1,158 yards, 10 TDs)

Defensive MVP: Coney Durr (Dutchtown DB - 55 tackles, 1 forced fumble, 1 TD)

Coach of the Year: Benny Saia (Dutchtown)