Parish players fill All-District team

Staff Writer
Gonzales Weekly Citizen
St. Amant wide receiver Briggs Bourgeois was named one of the district's Offensive MVPs. Photo by DKMoon Photography.

With the high-school football season complete, the All-District 5-5A team was released. Predictably, hordes of Ascension players made the cut.

St. Amant had the most parish selections with 19 after finishing 8-2 and reaching the second round of the playoffs.

Dutchtown finished the regular season 7-3, won a share of the district title and also reached the regional round. They had 17 players make the team.

East Ascension went 5-5 during the regular season and was eliminated in the first round of the postseason by eventual state runner-up John Ehret. The Spartans had 18 selections.

Parish First-Team Selections on Offense

Quarterback Jared Sparks (Dutchtown), running back Josh Bates (East Ascension), running back Fitell Bolding (Dutchtown), running back Nathan Taylor (St. Amant), tight end Chris Falgoust (Dutchtown), wide receiver Briggs Bourgeois (St. Amant), wide receiver Cornelius Washingon (Dutchtown), tackle Lloyd Cushenberry (Dutchtown), tackle Gus Gutierrez (East Ascension), kicker Briggs Bourgeois (St. Amant), punter Beau Trabeau (St. Amant), athlete Kyran Irvin (East Ascension)

Parish Second-Team Selections on Offense

Quarterback Hayden Mallory (St. Amant), running back Chucky Davis (Dutchtown), tight end Ira Washington (East Ascension), wide receiver Keenan Dunn (East Ascension), wide receiver Averee York (Dutchtown), wide receiver Jacob Cheatwood (St. Amant), center Prentiss Stanley (St. Amant), guard Mylik McWilliams (Dutchtown), guard Trevor Fleming (East Ascension), punter Candon Story (Dutchtown)

Parish Honorable Mention Selections on Offense

Wide receiver LaMarcus Jefferson (East Ascension), wide receiver Caleb Ricca (Dutchtown), wide receiver Jaylon Carlin (Dutchtown), wide receiver Larson Fontenot (St. Amant), guard Seth Savoy (East Ascension), tackle Josh Banks (St. Amant), tackle Wyatt Walker (St. Amant), kicker Cale Kernan (East Ascension)

Parish First-Team Selections on Defense

Lineman Jayvin Johnson (East Ascension), lineman Elliot Turner (St. Amant), linebacker Marshaud Melancon (East Ascension), linebacker Sean Pruet (Dutchtown), linebacker Cade Roddy (St. Amant), defensive back Johnny Baker (East Ascension), defensive back Coney Durr (Dutchtown), defensive back Patrick Wolfe (St. Amant)

Parish Second-Team Selections on Defense

Lineman Devon Sherman (East Ascension), lineman Garett Stephens (St. Amant), linebacker Terrence Lymon (Dutchtown), linebacker Xavier Anderson (St. Amant), linebacker Javien Sampson (East Ascension), defensive back Jamie LeBlanc (St. Amant), defensive back Jonathan Bryant (East Ascension), defensive back Rickey Thomas (Dutchtown), returner Mark Darby (St. Amant)

Parish Honorable Mention Selections on Defense

Lineman Justin Harris (East Ascension), lineman Ryan Trahan (Dutchtown), lineman Anthony Wilson (St. Amant), linebacker Abram Mitchell (Dutchtown), linebacker Joshua Dennis (East Ascension), defensive back Cody Simmons (St. Amant), defensive back Jacquel Jacobs (East Ascension)

Defensive MVP - Defensive back Coney Durr (Dutchtown)

Coach of the Year - Head coach Benny Saia (Dutchtown)

Offensive MVPs - Wide receiver Briggs Bourgeois (St. Amant), running back Clyde Edwards-Helaire (Catholic)