Many parish football stars make All-District 5-5A team

Kyle Riviere
Dutchtown safety Justin Reid was a first-team all-district selection for the Griffins. Photo by Dewey Keller.

As the high school football season wraps up with select state championship games being played last week and non-select title games coming this Friday, the All-District 5-5A team was released.

In one of the most competitive districts in the state, 33 players from Ascension made the first and second teams.

Like expected, Catholic dominated the team. The champs went undefeated in league play this season.

As a result, Dale Weiner was named Coach of the Year, LSU soft-commit Derrius Guice was named Offensive MVP and Trevell Johnson was named Defensive MVP.

But even with the Catholic domination, Dutchtown, East Ascension and St. Amant were all well-represented.

The Griffins and the Gators each had the most selections with 12.

St. Amant actually finished with the best record of the three 5A powers. They won their final two games against East Ascension and Dutchtown to finish 6-4 and 3-2 in the district.

It earned them a No. 18 seeding, but their playoff run ended in the first round for the third straight season as they were soundly beaten by defending champion Acadiana.

The Gators had two defensive players named to the first team in senior linebacker Caffre Jackson and senior safety Alex Derouselle.

On the second-team defensive unit, Jordan Lebourgeois made it on the defensive line, and Dylan Stephens made the cut at linebacker.

In special teams, Briggs Bourgeois was a second-team selection at kicker, and Lebourgeois also made the second team as a punter.

Offensively, no St. Amant players made the first team, but a slew of them were named to the second team.

Senior Tyler Dixon was named second-team all-district quarterback and in the backfield, both Richard Williams and junior Nathan Taylor were also selected.

The Gator receiving corps was well-represented as both Bourgeois and Marquise Hampton were honored.

Ian Watts was St. Amant's lone offensive lineman that made the all-district squad as he was named to the second team from his center position.

As for Dutchtown, the Griffins had a year of struggles that they're certainly not used to enduring.

After losing to three top-five teams, they finished just 4-6 for the year. In the playoffs, they came very close to upsetting seventh-seeded Barbe in the opening round but couldn't hang on to a late lead; they fell 14-10.

Offensively, two Griffins made the first team in junior running back Fitell Bolding and junior receiver Cornelius Washington.

Defensively, three Dutchtown players were first-team selections. Hunter Hill made the first team from the defensive line and in the secondary, both Justin Reid and junior Coney Durr earned first-team honors.

On the second team, senior running back Kajuan Coleman found his place along with guard Mylik McWilliams and tackle Hunter Austin. Averee York was a second-team selection as athlete.

Three Griffins made the second team on defense. This included defensive lineman Michael Tadda, linebacker Terrance Lymon and defensive back Rickey Thomas.

East Ascension fought through growing pains throughout the season to finish with a 5-5 mark and earn the highest seeding of the three parish teams at 16.

They crushed Sulphur 52-14 in the opening round, but their playoff run ended the next week as they were beat by top-seeded Byrd 37-20.

After the solid year, four Spartans made the first-team all-district squad on offense.

Junior Josh Bates was a first-team selection at running back, and Kade Waguespack made it at tight end.

On the offensive line, Sam Hargrave made it at center, and Ryan Keller got the nod at center.

Defensively, two East Ascension players made the first team in junior defensive lineman Javen Johnson and junior defensive back Johnny Baker.

Senior linebacker Donovan Julien was the Spartans' lone selection on the defensive second team.

The second-team offensive unit had two East Ascension selections on the offensive line with guard Milton Pichardo and junior tackle Gus Gutierrez.