District 5-5A names its all-district football team

Kyle Riviere
East Ascension running back Sione Palelei was a first-team All-District 5-5A selection for the Spartans. Photo Dewey Keller.

With the football state championship games wrapping up a couple of weeks ago, the all-district teams were finally named on Monday, and Ascension parish dominated the 5-5A division.

Not only did Dutchtown have the most first-team selections within the parish, but they touted the most first-team spots in the district altogether with nine.

Mason Nickens was named first-team quarterback after leading the Griffins to a solid 7-2 regular season, second-place finish in the district and second-round playoff appearance. That's where Dutchtown fell to eventual state champion Rummel 21-10.

Joining the duel-threat quarterback on the first-team offensive squad was the explosive Torrance Mosley at running back. And at receiver, Mississippi State-comitt Shelby Christy was an easy selection.

Brian Hernandez was a first-teamer on the offensive line, and Tyler Sarrazin was picked as the district's top kicker and punter.

On the defensive side of the ball, David Elias made first-team as a defensive lineman, and he was also selected as District 5-5A Defensive MVP.

Alex Thibodeaux snagged first-team honors from the linebacking core, and Tevin Reed represented the Griffins' secondary.

Second-team selections for Dutchtown included: receiver Corey McBride, offensive lineman Bill Chandler, defensive lineman Keynan Edwards and defensive back Justin Sampson.

The St. Amant Gators had a resurgent year--finishing 7-2 and making it to the playoffs for the first time since 2005 where they were edged out by Dutchtown 20-10.

The Gators' only two first-team selections on offense came from the offensive line with guard Evan Lambert and tackle DJ Nickens.

Defensively, Nick Bickum represented the defensive line, Brandon Rogers did the same for the linebacking core, and Jacob Morales and Gabe Richards highlighted the secondary.

Kirk Elisar was a first-team selection as a kick returner.

St. Amant's second-team selections included: running back Trey Washington, offensive linemen Dakota Nickens and Ira Ross, Morales as a punter, defensive linemen Reese LeBlanc and Tendrick Cooper, linebacker Chance Cernich and defensive back Jonovan Lewis.

And even though East Ascension had a disappointing 4-6 year filled with so many heart-breaking losses, many Spartans were recognized for their exceptional play throughout the season.

Versatile running back Sione Palelei was a first-team selection along with the big tight end David Speligene.

On defense, Deandre Darville made first-team from his linebacker position, and Vance Grayson garnered first-team honors from the secondary.

Second-team selections for East Ascension included: quarterback Layne Trahan, running back Michael Sparrow, receiver Chad Hill, defensive linemen Devin Simoneaux and Devon Gipson and linebacker Jalon Watts.