Nine Tigers make All-SEC

Jake Terry

Odell Beckham Jr. and Jeremy Hill led a group of nine LSU football players named to the Associated Press All-Southeastern Conference teams released on Monday.

Beckham Jr. earned a spot on the All-SEC First Team as an all-purpose player, and Hill earned first-team honors at running back.

Wide receiver Jarvis Landry, offensive guard Trai Turner, defensive tackle Anthony Johnson and linebacker Lamin Barrow all garnered Second-Team All-SEC honors.

Quarterback Zach Mettenberger, defensive tackle Ego Ferguson and safety Craig Loston were named Honorable Mention All-SEC to round out the list of Tigers.

Beckham Jr. leads the SEC and ranks second nationally in all-purpose yards, averaging 185.2 yards per game. He set the LSU single-season record with 2,222 all-purpose yards and ranks third in SEC single-season history. Beckham is an integral part of LSU’s passing attack as he has recorded 57 catches for 1,117 yards and eight touchdowns.

Hill finished the regular season ranked second in the SEC in rushing at 107.7 yards per game, second in total rushing yards at 1,185, second in rushing touchdowns with 14 and fifth in all-purpose yards at 124.2 per game.

Landry joined with Beckham Jr. to become the first receiving duo in school history and only the third in SEC history to record 1,000-plus receiving yards in the same season.

Landry led the Tigers with 75 receptions for 1,172 yards and 10 touchdowns, and he provided clutch catches all season. Landry ranked No. 1 nationally with 453 yards, six touchdowns, 15 catches of 15-plus yards and six catches of 25-plus yards on third downs this season, and he ranked second nationally with 24 third-down catches that resulted in a first down.

A second-year starter at right guard, Turner posted 54 knockdown blocks this season while paving the way for a rushing attack that produced 34 touchdowns, a figure that ranks second in the SEC and an average of 200.8 rushing yards per game.

Johnson started all 12 games at defensive tackle, recording a team-high 7.0 tackles for a loss to go along with three sacks. He finished the regular season with 32 total tackles, three quarterback hurries and his first career interception at Georgia.

Barrow leads LSU in tackles with 86 while adding 4.5 tackles for a loss and 1.5 sacks.

Mettenberger leads the SEC and ranks third nationally in passing efficiency at 171.4, and he also led the conference in passing yards per completion at 16.1. He ranks third in the league in passing yards with 3,082, becoming the third quarterback in LSU history to cross the 3,000-yard plateau in a season, joining Rohan Davey and JaMarcus Russell. Mettenberger finished the season 192-of-296 passing for 3,082 yards with 22 touchdowns and eight interceptions.

In his first season as a starter at defensive tackle, Ferguson finished fifth on the team with 58 total tackles, and he produced 3.5 tackles for a loss and one sack.

Loston started nine games for the Tigers and registered 51 tackles, two pass breakups and two interceptions. Loston’s interceptions helped seal LSU’s victories against Auburn and Texas A&M.

No. 14 LSU (9-3) will face Iowa (8-4) in the Outback Bowl in Tampa, Fla., on Jan. 1. The game will kick off at noon CT and will be televised by ESPN.



WR Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt, 6-3, 205, Sr.

WR Mike Evans, Texas A&M, 6-5, 225, So.

L Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State, 6-4, 340, Sr.

L Cyrus Kouandjio, Alabama, 6-6, 310, Jr.

L Jake Matthews, Texas A&M, 6-5, 305, Sr.

L t-Justin Britt, Missouri, 6-6, 315, Sr.

L t-Greg Robinson, Auburn, 6-5, 320, So.

L t-Anthony Steen, Alabama, 6-3, 309, Sr.

C Travis Swanson, Arkansas, 6-5, 315, Sr.

QB Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, 6-1, 210, So.

RB u-Tre Mason, Auburn, 5-10, 205, Jr.

RB Jeremy Hill, LSU, 6-2, 235, So.

K Marshall Morgan, Georgia, 6-3, 200, So.

All-Purpose Odell Beckham Jr., LSU, 6-0, 193, Jr.


E u-Michael Sam, Missouri, 6-2, 255, Sr.

E Dee Ford, Auburn, 6-2, 240, Sr.

T Kelcy Quarles, South Carolin, 6-4, 298, Jr.

E t-Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina, 6-6, 274, Jr.

E t-Kony Ealy, Missouri, 6-5, 275, Jr.

LB u-C.J. Mosley, Alabama, 6-2, 232, Sr.

LB Ramik Wilson, Georgia, 6-2, 232, Jr.

LB A.J. Johnson, Tennessee, 6-2, 243, Jr.

CB E.J. Gaines, Missouri, 5-11, 195, Sr.

CB Vernon Hargreaves III, Florida, 5-11, 192, Fr.

S Cody Prewitt, Mississippi, 6-2, 220, Jr.

S Kenny Ladler, Vanderbilt, 6-1, 205, Sr.

P Cody Mandell, Alabama, 6-3, 213, Sr.



WR Jarvis Landry, LSU, 6-1, 195, Jr.

WR Dorial Green-Beckham, Missouri, 6-6, 225, So.

L Ja'Waun James, Tennessee, 6-6, 316, Sr.

L t-Wesley Johnson, Vanderbilt, 6-5, 295, Sr.

L t-Antonio Richardson, Tennessee, 6-6, 327, Jr.

L t-Laremy Tunsil, Mississippi, 6-5, 315, Fr.

L t-Trai Turner, LSU, 6-3, 316, So.

C Reese Dismukes, Auburn, 6-3, 297, Jr.

TE t-Evan Engram, Mississippi, 6-3, 217, Fr.

TE t-Hunter Henry, Arkansas, 6-6, 250, Fr.

TE t-C.J. Uzomah, Auburn, 6-4, 258, Jr.

QB Aaron Murray, Georgia, 6-1, 208, Sr.

RB T.J. Yeldon, Alabama, 6-2, 218, So.

RB t-Todd Gurley, Georgia, 6-1, 232, So.

RB t-Mike Davis, South Carolina, 5-9, 215, So.

K Zach Hocker, Arkansas, 6-0, 191, Sr.

All-Purpose Christion Jones, Alabama, 5-11, 185, Jr.


E Alvin Dupree, Kentucky, 6-4, 252, Jr.

T Anthony Johnson, LSU, 6-3, 294, Jr.

E Dante Fowler Jr., Florida, 6-3, 266, So.

LB Avery Williamson, Kentucky, 6-1, 238, Sr.

LB t-Lamin Barrow, LSU, 6-23, 232, Sr.

LB t-Serderius Bryant, Mississppi, 5-9, 215, Jr.

LB t-Trey DePriest, Alabama, 6-2, 245, Jr.

LB t-Sharrod Golightly, South Carolina, 5-10, 195, Jr.

LB t-Denzel Nkemdiche, Mississippi, 5-11, 207, So.

LB t-Andrew Wilson, Missouri, 6-3, 240, So.

CB Andre Hal, Vanderbilt, 6-0, 186, Sr.

CB t-Chris Davis, Auburn, 5-11, 200, Sr.

CB t-Victor Hampton, South Carolina, 5-10, 202, Jr.

CB t-Loucheiz Purifoy, Florida, 6-0, 190, Jr.

S Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Alabama, 6-1, 208, Jr.

S Landon Collins, Alabama, 6-0, 215, So.

P Drew Kaser, Texas A&M, 6-3, 205, So.



Nick Marshall, QB, Auburn, 6-1, 210, Jr.; AJ McCarron, QB, Alabama, 6-4, 214, Sr.; Zach Mettenberger, QB, LSU, 6-5, 235, Sr.


Steven Clark, P, Auburn, 6-5, 230, Sr.; Ego Ferguson, T, LSU, 6-3, 309, Jr.; Markus Golden, E, Missouri, 6-3, 260, Jr.; Brandon Ivory, T, Alabama, 6-4, 310, Jr.; Chris Jones, T, Mississippi St., 6-5, 305, Fr.; Craig Loston, S, LSU, 6-2, 209, Sr.; Michael Palardy, P, Tennessee, 5-11, 185, Sr.; Vinnie Sunseri, S, Alabama, 6-0, 210, Jr.; Robenson Therezie, S, Auburn, 5-9, 204, Jr.; Nickoe Whitley, S, Mississippi St., 6-1, 205, Sr.; Gabe Wright, T, Auburn, 6-3, 296, Jr.


Tre Mason, Auburn


Michael Sam, Missouri


Gus Malzahn, Auburn


Alex Collins, Arkansas