Beckham Jr. joins Tiger teammates on preseason watchlists

Bill Martin
Odell Beckham Jr. has accounted for 1,784 all-purpose yards in his first two seasons at LSU. Photo by

LSU junior wide receiver Odell Beckham Jr. is one of 75 players from across the nation who have been named to the watchlist for the Biletnikoff Award, which is presented annually to the most outstanding receiver in college football.

Beckham Jr., a native of New Orleans, is one of 13 Southeastern Conference wideouts on the list. Beckham joins five other LSU players on individual award watchlists this preseason.

The award recipient is selected by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of over 200 prominent college football journalists, commentators and former receivers. Receivers may be added to the watchlist as their season performances dictate.

Beckham Jr. hauled in a team-high 713 yards receiving as a sophomore in 2012, and he was second in receptions with 43. He ranked 13th in the league in receiving yards per game with 54.3. He has averaged 12.9 yards every time he touches the football, and he's accounted for 1,784 all-purpose yards on 138 attempts in his two previous seasons.

The 2013 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live Dec. 12 on the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show from Walt Disney World. The award has been presented every year since 1994. LSU captured the honor in 2001 during Josh Reed's All-American season.

He is also one of 44 multi-talented players across the nation named to the watchlist for the Paul Hornung Award, which annually goes to college football's most versatile player.

His versatility was on display throughout the entire 2012 season as he led the Southeastern Conference in punt returns (35), ranked fourth in punt return yards (320) and seventh in yards per return (9.1). Beckham Jr. accounted for two punt return touchdowns – a 70-yarder in a win over North Texas and an electrifying 89-yard score that sealed a victory over Ole Miss.

Beckham Jr. was one of just four LSU players to return multiple punts for touchdowns in the same season since at least 1991, joining Tyrann Mathieu (2011), Patrick Peterson (2010) and Skyler Green (2003).

The Louisville Sports Commission successfully launched the Paul Hornung Award in 2010 to honor its namesake and native son and to promote outstanding performances by versatile college football players that often go unnoticed. The winner will be honored at the official Paul Hornung Award Banquet held at the Galt House in downtown Louisville in late January 2014.

The selection committee is comprised of 16 national sports journalists and former college and NFL players who vote for finalists, then a winner. Their votes are tabulated by public accounting firm Dean Dorton Allen Ford.