O'Bryant named AP second-team All-SEC

Kent Lowe
LSU's Johnny O'Bryant III. Photo by LSUsports.net.

LSU sophomore forward Johnny O'Bryant III was named second team All-SEC on the Associated Press team as chosen by a panel of media members that cover the Southeastern Conference.

JOB III last week was named to the eight-player first team as chosen by the league coaches. O'Bryant finished the 2012-13 season with 15 double-doubles to lead the league and averaged 13.6 points per game and 8.7 rebounds a game.

The AP picked a five-player first team and six players to the second team along with an eight-member honorable mention group.

Here is the All-SEC squad:

First Team

Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, Georgia

Erik Murphy, Florida

Trevor Releford, Alabama

Jordan McRae, Tennessee

Nerlens Noel, Kentucky

Second Team

Marshall Henderson, Mississippi

Elston Turner, Texas A&M

Jarnell Stokes, Tennessee

Johnny O'Bryant III, LSU

Murphy Holloway, Mississippi

Phil Pressey, Missouri

Honorable Mention

Laurence Bowers, Missouri; Kenny Boynton, Florida; Alex Oriakhi, Missouri; Marshawn Powell, Arkansas; Mike Rosario, Florida; Scottie Wilbekin, Florida; BJ Young, Arkansas; Patric Young, Florida.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR - Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, Georgia

COACH OF THE YEAR - Billy Donovan, Florida

NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR - Marshall Henderson, Mississippi