Nola a finalist for National Pitcher of the Year

Bill Franques
LSU's Aaron Nola.

The National College Baseball Hall of Fame's National Pitcher of the Year Award list has been narrowed to three. The 2013 finalists are David Berg of UCLA, Jonathan Gray of Oklahoma and Aaron Nola of LSU.

Nola, a sophomore from Baton Rouge, went 12-1. The Tigers are 15-2 in his starts.

Berg enters the College World Series as the NCAA Division I leader with a miniscule 0.88 ERA. His 7-0 record and 21 saves in 46 appearances earned him Pac-12 Pitcher of the Year honors and have placed him among the list of finalists for the NCBWA Stopper of the Year award.

Gray, a junior from Chandler, Oklahoma, was the 3rd overall pick by the Colorado Rockies in the MLB First-Year Player Draft. He finished the season ranked second in strikeouts with 147. He was a semifinalist for both the Dick Howser Trophy and Golden Spikes Award.

The winner of the National Pitcher of the Year Award will be named on June 29 in Lubbock, Texas, as part of the College Baseball Night of Champions.

The event also features the an¬nouncement of winners of the John Olerud Award and Brooks Wallace Award. The Johnny Bench Award and Dick Howser Trophy are also presented, as well as the 2013 National College Baseball Hall of Fame inductions.