Bregman a finalist for Brooks Wallace Award

Bill Franques
LSU's Alex Bregman. Photo by

The National College Baseball Hall of Fame's Brooks Wallace Award list has been narrowed to three shortstops. The finalists for this year's award are Alex Bregman of LSU, Hunter Dozier of Stephen F. Austin and Trea Turner of North Carolina State.

The Brooks Wallace Award is presented each season to the nation's best shortstop.

Bregman, a freshman from Albuquerque, entered the College World Series ranked second among NCAA Division I players in total hits with 104, a total that tops the LSU record books for a freshman. He was named first-team All-Southeastern Conference and has been honored as the NCBWA Freshman Hitter of the Year. In addition, he was named National Freshman Player of the Year and third-team All-American by the Collegiate Baseball Newspaper. He was also a semifinalist for USA Baseball's Golden Spikes Award and a semifinalist for the Dick Howser Trophy.

Dozier, the first round pick of the Kansas City Royals in last week's MLB First-Year Player Draft, batted .396 with 17 home runs and 52 RBIs this season for Stephen F. Austin. He led the Southland Conference in batting average, slugging percentage (.755), doubles (25) and home runs, earning Louisville Slugger first-team All-America honors.

Turner, a sophomore from Lake Worth, Fla., was the All-Atlantic Coast Conference shortstop on the strength of a .378 batting average, with seven home runs, 41 RBIs and 27 stolen bases. He led the College World Series-bound Wolfpack in seven offensive categories.

The winner of the Brooks Wallace Award will be named on June 29 in Lubbock, Texas, as part of the College Baseball Night of Champions. The event also features the announcement of the winners of the John Olerud Award and National Pitcher of the Year Award. The Johnny Bench Award and Dick Howser Trophy are also presented, as well as the 2013 National College Baseball Hall of Fame inductions.