Three Tigers make the Golden Spikes Award Watch List

Bill Franques

Three LSU players have been named to the 2013 Golden Spikes Award Watch List released by USA Baseball. The Golden Spikes Award will be presented to the top amateur baseball player in the country on Friday, July 19.

LSU players appearing on the list are senior first baseman Mason Katz, sophomore pitcher Aaron Nola and freshman shortstop Alex Bregman. LSU and Georgia Tech are the only schools with three representatives on the watch list.

The watch list will continue to be a "rolling" list until May 28 -- when the 30 semifinalists for the award are announced -- ensuring that athletes can play themselves into consideration for the award. The Golden Spikes Award trophy will be awarded live on MLB Network for the third year in a row, with a live presentation scheduled during The Rundown on July 19.

Katz is hitting .382 this season with 10 doubles, two triples, 13 homers and an SEC-leading 62 RBI. Nola leads the SEC in strikeouts with 90, and he has posted an 8-0 record with a 2.14 ERA. Bregman and Cal State Fullerton pitcher Thomas Eshelman are the only freshmen on the list. Bregman is hitting .399 with 11 doubles, seven triples, five homers and 43 RBI and he has collected an SEC-high 79 base hits.

USA Baseball officials will announce the 30 semifinalists for the 2013 Golden Spikes Award on Tuesday, May 28. The list of 30 will then be sent to a voting body consisting of past USA Baseball National Team coaches and press officers, members of media that closely follow the amateur game, select professional baseball personnel and current USA Baseball staff, representing a group of more than 200 voters in total.

Fan voting will once again be a part of the Golden Spikes Award in 2013. On Tuesday, May 28, baseball fans from across the country will be able to vote for their favorite semifinalist on As part of this selection process, all voters will be asked to choose three players from the list of 30 names. On Tuesday, June 4, USA Baseball will announce the three finalists, and voting will once again commence that same day.