Barrow named Butkus Award semifinalist

Jake Terry
LSU linebacker Lamin Barrow. Photo by

LSU linebacker Lamin Barrow was one of 12 players across the country named a semifinalist for the Butkus Award, the Butkus Foundation announced.

The award is given annually to the nation's top linebacker. Finalists will be announced Nov. 26, and the winner will be announced by Dec. 10.

A senior from Marrero, Barrow leads LSU and ranks sixth in the SEC with 64 total tackles, an average of 7.1 tackles a game.

Barrow has led the Tigers in total tackles in four games this season, including LSU's 17-6 victory against Florida when he tallied a career-high 13 stops.

A two-year starter at outside linebacker, Barrow has accumulated 203 tackles in his career along with 12.0 tackles for a loss, eight pass breakups, six quarterback hurries, four fumble recoveries, 1.5 sacks (all in 2013), and one forced fumble.

No. 13 LSU returns to action on Nov. 9 when the Tigers travel to Tuscaloosa, Ala., to play No. 1 Alabama at 7 p.m. CT in Bryant-Denny Stadium. The game will be televised by CBS and will be also be available online at

2013 Butkus Award Semifinalists

Anthony Barr, UCLA

Lamin Barrow, LSU

Chris Borland, Wisconsin

Khairi Fortt, California

Khalil Mack, Buffalo

C.J. Mosley, Alabama

Denzel Perryman, Miami (Fla.)

Trevor Reilly, Utah

Ryan Shazier, Ohio State

Shayne Skov, Stanford

Yawin Smallwood, Connecticut

Kyle Van Noy, BYU