Six Tigers named to 7-2A first-team

Peter Silas Pasqua
Donaldsonville's Bryant Dunn

DONALDSONVILLE – Donaldson-ville landed six players on the District 8-2A first-team selected by coaches recently.

Donaldsonville was runner-up with  a 6-1 record and finished with an overall mark of 9-2 before losing to Riverside Academy in the first round of the Class 2A playoffs under first-year head coach Terence Williams.

Senior running back Bryant Dunn was joined on the first-team by senior offensive lineman Dwight Wright, sophomore athelete Devon Breaux, junior defensive lineman Robert Gipson, senior linebacker Aikee Turner and senior defensive back Darvelle Allen.

Donaldsonville also placed four on the all-district second team - junior wide reciever Jarrett Cole, senior defensive lineman Henry Mitchell, senior linebacker Jeremy Dunn and junior defensive back Travell Dunn.

Bryant Dunn, last year’s MVP, rushed for 1,662 yards and 19 touchdowns on 195 attempts. He went over the century mark eight times and had a career high 323 rushing yards against Dunham. Dunn also caught 14 receptions for 117 yards and one touchdown and threw for four more scored on 5 of 8 passing for 122 yards.

Breaux, Donaldsonville’s quarterback, threw for 853 yards and seven touchdowns completing 56 of 96 passes and also ran for 798 yards and 12 touchdowns on 140 attempts.

Wright helped the Tigers rush for 3,134 yards and 36 touchdowns on 429 caries.

Turner had 81 total tackles including 35 assists,added two interceptions and caused one fumble. He had 13 stops against Riverside and 12 against Clinton.

Gipson registered 24 total tackles in four games with 14 assists, two sacks, both against Dunham and one pass deflection.

Allen totaled 105 tackles with 47 assists to go with seven pass breakups and two fumble recoveries.

All-District 7-2A

First Team


QB    Terrance Broadway    Capitol    Sr.

RB    Frankie Jackson    Capitol    Sr.

RB    Bryant Dunn        Donaldsonville    Sr.

RB    Jared Rogers    University     Jr.

TE    Luke Anderson    Dunham    So.

WR    Roosevelt Wright    Capitol    Sr.

WR    Nyle Johnson    University    Jr.

OL    Corey White     Capitol    Jr.

OL    D.J.?Taylor     Clinton    Jr.

OL    Albert Hill    Capitol    Jr.

OL    Evan Stenhouse     Dunham    Sr.

OL    Dwight Wright    Donaldsonville    Sr.

K    Trent Luecke     Dunham    Jr.

RS    Joseph Robinson    Clinton    Jr.

ATH  Devon Breaux     Donaldsonville    So.


DL    Dorseay Bindon     Capitol    Jr.

DL    Robert Gipson    Donaldsonville    Jr.

DL    Wendell Beckwith    Clinton    Sr.

DL    Kevin Fischer    Episcopal    Sr.

LB    Fred Wilson     Capitol     Jr.

LB    Aikee Turner     Donaldsonville    Sr.

LB    Collin Ellis     Dunham    Sr.

LB    Carey McKnight    Clinton    Sr.

DB    Tre` Celestine             Dunham    Sr.

DB    Markell Lee       Capitol     Sr.

DB    Darvelle Allen        Donaldsonville    Sr.

DB    Tekemian Ceasar     Clinton    Jr.

P    Dalton Seaman      University    Sr.

Offensive MVP: Frankie Jackson, Capitol

Defensive MVP: Collin Ellis, Dunham

Coach of the Year: Chadwick?Germany, Capitol