CLEANING UP: Day selected MVP in 6-5A; Buratt named Gold Glove, Schexnaydre top coach

Peter Silas Pasqua
Dutchtown senior pitcher/outfielder Dillon Day was recently named the District 6-5A MVP by district coaches.

Dutchtown added a trio of awards to its District 6-5A title when the all-district squad was selected by the coaches recently.

Senior pitcher/outfielder Dillon Day was named the MVP while junior third baseman Jesse Buratt was awarded a share of the district’s Gold Glove. Second-year head coach Chris Schexnaydre was selected as the Coach of the Year.

Dutchtown went 13-2 in district and advanced to the Class 5A state championship game before falling to Northshore to finish runner-ups with an overall record of 32-6-2.

Day went 6-1 in 43 1/3 district innings compiling four shutouts while pitching six complete games. He compiled a .48 earned run average while striking out 65 and walking just nine. At the plate, Day batted .431 with 19 runs, 12 RBIs, nine stolen bases, four doubles and three triples.

Buratt hit .359 with eight runs, nine RBIs, three doubles and one home run. Buratt was also 1-0 on the hill with four saves striking out 15 in 12 1/3 innings and an earned run average of 2.27. 

Day was joined on the all-District 6-5A first team by Griffins’ senior catcher Wesley Perkins, senior infielder Alex Millet, senior outfielder Damon Scanlan, sophomore outfielder Matt Willis and Buratt as utility.

Junior pitcher Chris Boutwell, freshmen infielder Troy Lewis and junior pitcher/first baseman Britt Gautreaux made the all-district second team.

Millet batted a team-high .444 for the Griffins with 16 runs, 13 RBIs, six stolen bases, three doubles and one home run. Perkins hit .353 with a team-high 21 RBIs, seven doubles and two home runs. Scanlan batted .353 with 10 runs, eight RBIs, two doubles, two home runs and five stolen bases. Willis hit .359 with 13 runs, six RBIs, five doubles and one home run.

Boutwell compiled a 4-1 record on the mound with a 4.08 ERA while striking out 14 in 12 innings. Lewis hit .315 with 15 runs, 13 RBIs, three doubles, two triples, one home run and five stolen bases. Gautreaux hit .200 with eight runs, 11 RBIs, two doubles and one home run. Gautreaux  was also 1-0 on the hill with 19 strikeouts in 16.1 innings.

East Ascension placed one player on the all-district first team – senior catcher Adam Trahan as utility. Senior pitcher Ethan Guidry, senior outfielder Matt Richard, senior second baseman Marcus Bailey and junior pitcher Alec Singletary were named to the second-team, the later two as utility.

Trahan hit .326 with 15 runs, eight RBIs, four doubles, two triples and five stolen bases. Guidry compiled a 3-1 record with a 3.39 ERA and 18 strikeouts in 20 2/3 innings. Richard hit .286 with eight runs, six RBIs, two doubles and six stolen bases. Bailey batted .302 with 11 runs, six RBIs, two doubles and three stolen bases. Singletary was 2-3 on the hill with a  2.86 ERA striking out 31 in 29 1/3 innings, while hitting .233 with eight runs, two RBIs and one triple.

St. Amant senior outfielder A.J. Bonadona was a first-team all-district selection. Making second team were junior pitcher Dylan Delaune and senior infielder Caleb Templet.

Bonadona hit .316 over the season with 14 runs, two doubles, one triple and three stolen bases. Delaune was 3-2 on the hill with two saves and a 3.652 ERA to go with 33 strikeouts in 38 1/3 innings pitched. Delaune also batted .301 with 19 runs, 16 RBIs, five doubles and six home runs. Templet hit .375 with 29 runs, 29 RBIs, nine doubles and six home runs.

2009 All-District 6-5A Team

First Team

P    Kurt McCune    Destrehan    Jr.

P    Hunter Tyree    Destrehan    Sr.

P    Joshua Rochelle    Destrehan    Sr.

P    Dillon Day    Dutchtown    Sr.

C    Patrick Roth    Destrehan    Sr.

C    Wesley Perkins    Dutchtown    Sr.

IF    Ryan Waters    Hahnville    Sr.

IF    Alex Millet    Dutchtown    Sr.

IF    Dillon Boudreaux    Hahnville    Jr.

IF    Sam Carriere    Destrehan     Jr.   

OF    Dillon Day    Dutchtown    Sr.

OF    Damon Scnalan    Dutchtown    Sr.

OF    A.J.?Bonadona    St. Amant    Sr.

OF    Matt Willis    Dutchtown    So.

UT    Donald Goff    East St. John    Sr.

UT    Jesse Buratt    Dutchtown    Jr.

UT    Andrew Suffrin    Destrehan    Sr.

UT    Adam Trahan    East Ascension     Sr.

MVP: Dillon Day, Dutchtown

Gold Glove: Sam Carriere,?Destrehan; Jesse Buratt, Dutchtown

Coach of the Year: Chris Schexnaydre, Dutchtown

Second Team

P    Dylan Delaune    St. Amant    Jr.

P    Britten Lanaux    Hahnville    Jr.

P    Ethan Guidry    East Ascension     Sr.

P    Chris Boutwell    Dutchtown    Jr.

C    Justin Howard    East St. John    Sr.

C    Buddy Trauth    Hahnville    Sr.

IF    John Gomez    Hahnville    Sr.

IF    Troy Lewis    Dutchtown    Fr.

IF    Caleb Templet    St. Amant    Sr.   

IF    Matt Smith    Destrehan     Sr.

OF    Brandon Young     Hahnville    Sr.

OF    Matt Richard     East Ascension    Sr.

OF    Shane Babineaux    Destrehan     Sr.

OF    Blaise Dempster    Hahnville     Sr.

UT    Marcus Bailey    East Ascension     Sr.

UT    Shane Nicholas     East St. John    Jr.

UT    Alec Singletary    East Ascension    Jr.

UT    Justin Zoglio    Hahnville     Sr.

UT    Britt Gautreaux    Dutchtown    Jr.

Griffins’ third baseman Jesse Buratt received a share of the district’s Gold Glove award.