Here's what Louisiana's version of what critics call Don't Say Gay would mean in schools

Claiborne headlines All-District 6-5A team

Peter Silas Pasqua
St. Amant’s Rashaun Claiborne was recently named the District 6-5A MVP after averaging 20 points, 10 rebounds, four blocked shots, three assists and two steals per game.

St. Amant senior forward Rashaun Claiborne has been a mainstay with the Gators’ basketball program since his sophomore season. Claiborne recently capped his career by being named the District 6-5A overall MVP.

St. Amant teammate, senior point guard Bruce Mathison was also named co-defensive MVP as the Gators tied for second in district play and advanced to the regionals of the Class 5A playoffs.

Claiborne averaged 20 points per game to go with 10 rebounds, four blocked shots, three assists and two steals.

“Rashaun was just so athletic,” St. Amant head coach Gary Duhe said. “I think that is what separated him. The coaches felt like he was the most complete player in the district and they just loved the way he played with such enthusiasm and so tough.”

Mathison averaged three charges per game to go with eight points, seven assists, five steals and four rebounds.

Joining Claiborne on the all-District 6-5A first team were St. Amant senior Brandon Morris, East Ascension senior Quinn Coco, Dutchtown senior Earl Warren and Dutchtown junior Scott Burgess. East Ascension seniors Gary Weber and Ferrell Strode, St. Amant senior Nick Morris and Dutchtown senior Eddie Lacy were honorable mention all-district selections.

Brandon Morris led St. Amant with a 23 point scoring average to go with seven rebounds, six assists and three steals. Nick Morris finished with eight points, two rebounds and two assists per contest.

Coco led East Ascension, which advanced to the Class 5A quarterfinals, averaging 16 points per game with four rebounds, three assists and two steals. Weber averaged 8.3 points, five assists, four rebounds and two steals per game, while Strode provided 9.4 points, five rebounds and one steal per game.

Warren led Dutchtown, which advanced to the Class 5A playoffs, with 14.7 points a game to go with five assists, four rebounds, two steals and two blocks. Burgess provided 13.9 points and seven rebounds per game, while Lacy averaged eight rebounds and seven points per game.

East St. John’s Yusef Jasmine was named coach of the year after leading the Wildcats to the district title. Hahnville’s Desmond Raymond and East St. John’s Keith Cameron split the defensive MVP with Mathison.

All-District 6-5A

Boys’ Basketball Team

First team

Rashaun Claiborne    Sr.    St. Amant

Roosevelt Johnson    Sr.    Destrehan

Brandon Morris    Sr.    St. Amant

Malcom Lago    Sr.    East St. John

Quinn Coco    Sr.    E. Ascension

Desmond Raymond    Sr.    Hahnville

Earl Warren    Sr.    Dutchtown

Jared Kinsey    Sr.    Hahnville

Kelth Cameron    Sr.    East St. John

Scott Burgess    Jr.    Dutchtown

Honarable mention: Gary Weber, East Ascension; Ferrell Strode, East Ascension; Nick Morris, St. Amant; Eddie Lacy, Dutchtown.

MVP: Rashaun Claiborne, St. Amant

Co-Defensive MVPs: Bruce Mathison, St. Amant, Desmond Raymond, Hahnville, and Kelth Cameron, East St. John

Coach of the Year: Yusef Jasmine, East St. John

St. Amant’s Bruce Mathison was recently named District 6-5A co-defensive?MVP after averaging three charges and five steals.