Ascension Parish School Board honors retiring members

Staff Report
Ascension Parish School Board Vice President Troy Gautreau, Sr., District 7A, and Patricia Russo, District 7B, were honored at their last board meeting before retiring. They are shown with Superintendent David Alexander and board member Taft Kleinpeter.

The Ascension Parish School Board recognized two longtime members as they concluded their final meeting before retiring from the board.

Ascension Parish Schools thanked board vice president Troy Gautreau Sr. and member Patricia Russo for more than 20 years of service in a social media post that included photos with their families.

Following the Nov. 8 election, two new members will join the 11-member board.

As previously reported, Jake Lambert will take the seat held by Russo, and Karen Hays Braud will take the spot of Gautreau.

Braud won District 7, Seat A over candidates Wade Schexnaydre and Joey Cernich Sr.

For District 4, Seat A, incumbent Marty J. Bourgeois won over Jennifer Miranda.

Incumbent John DeFrances defeated James J. Moore to retain District 5, Seat A.

Several incumbents returned to their seats on the board without opposition: Robyn Penn Delaney, Scott Duplechein, Julie Blouin, John Murphy, Taft Kleinpeter, Louis Lambert, and Jared "Boo" Bercegeay.

Gonzales Weekly Citizen and Donaldsonville Chief, part of the USA Today Network of Louisiana, cover Ascension Parish and the greater Baton Rouge area. Follow at facebook.com/WeeklyCitizen and facebook.com/DonaldsonvilleChief.