Annual matriculation ceremony welcomes three Ascension Parish students

Staff Writer
Gonzales Weekly Citizen
Bradly Wilson.

The Louisiana School for Math, Science, and the Arts (LSMSA) welcomed 160 new students during the school’s annual matriculation ceremony held on Sept. 4 in the A.A. Fredericks Auditorium on the campus of Northwestern State University.

The ceremony recognized students’ accomplishments, reinforced their commitment to LSMSA and encouraged them to apply the necessary diligence to persevere until reaching commencement.

“The matriculation ceremony is an exciting and important event because it marks formally the admission of some of the best students from around the state,” said Dr. Patrick Widhalm, executive director. “More than 500 students began the application process and these students were admitted.

It also confirms our support for them to learn, grow and graduate from LSMSA and join the distinctive ranks of LSMSA alumni.”

The new students represent 70 percent of the 64 parishes in Louisiana. The average grade point average of incoming students is 3.824 and the average ACT score is 24. The three Ascension Parish students welcomed to the program are Olivia LaCour of St. Amant, Nicholas Tran of Geismar and Brady Wilson of Prairieville.

Recognized guests at the ceremony included Rep. Jimmy Long; Sharon Gehagan, chairperson of the LSMSA Board of Directors; Mike McGrath, faculty representative on the LSMSA Board of Directors; Larry Bossier, member of the LSMSA Foundation Board of Trustees; Kelly Rodrigue, president of the Parents’ Council; and Shelly Rivers-Lewis, student support services coordinator at the Sabine Parish School Board.

“To the new students, here is to you,” said Eli Langley, a senior from Elton and president of the Student Government Organization. “You’re about to join a new family and embark on a journey you’ll never forget. We’re in this together. Let’s make the most of it.”