Sheriff Wiley awards scholarship to college-bound teens

Staff Writer
Gonzales Weekly Citizen
From left, Britt Alexander, Tyler Broussard, Sheriff Jeff Wiley, Parker Vige, and Jade DelValle - Each senior received a $500 LSA Scholarship.

Sheriff Jeff Wiley announced that two high school seniors in Ascension Parish have been named recipients of an academic scholarship from the Louisiana Sheriffs’ Scholarship Program for the 2014-2015 school year. All recipients reside in Ascension Parish and plan to attend colleges in the State of Louisiana.

The following students were awarded:

Jade DelValle- Dutchtown High School- $500 LSA Scholarship Recipient

Jason Williams- Donaldsonville High School- $500 LSA Scholarship Recipient

Tyler Broussard- St. Amant High School- $500 LSA Scholarship Recipient

The Sheriff’s Scholarship is made possible by the Louisiana Sheriffs’ Honorary Membership Program (LSHMP). Louisiana Sheriffs’ provide scholarships to graduating high school seniors from each parish where the Sheriff is an affiliate of the Program.

Qualities such as academic achievement, leadership and character are considered in making selections of Sheriffs’ scholarship recipients. The only limitations are that applicants be permanent residents of Louisiana; scholarships be utilized in higher education within the State; and students be enrolled as full-time, undergraduate students. Scholarships will be awarded in sixty-three parishes throughout the state.

“Academic awards by the Louisiana Sheriffs’ Scholarship Program to Louisiana students demonstrate what the LSHMP is all about,” said Sheriff Wiley. “This is one of our finest accomplishments that invests in Louisiana’s future and gives something back to our community. This would not be possible without the kind and generous support of Ascension Parish’s Honorary Members.”