St. Amant VFD honors 2012 volunteers at banquet

Staff Writer
Gonzales Weekly Citizen
Asst. Deputy Chief Josh Wingerter presents St. Amant Fire Chief James E. LeBlanc with his Service Award to the St. Amant Community – Chief LeBlanc is serving his 26th year as a Fire Chief in Ascension Parish.

The St. Amant Volunteer Fire Department hosted its annual awards banquet Saturday night at The Venue.

More than 200 people attended the event, including Ascension Parish Tax Assessor Mert Smiley, Ascension Parish Councilman Chris Loar and OEP Director Rick Weber.

Chief James LeBlanc emceed the event which was hosted by guest speaker Lt. Col. Bobby Weber of the Ascension Parish Sheriff's Office.

Mike and Steve Broussard prepared the food for the event.

Those honored included: Joel Louque, Outgoing Board Member; Kane Hanna and Robbie Villenurve, Junior Firefighters of the Year; Jennifer Heber and Alex Soletske, EMS Rookies of the Year; Shane Rojas, EMS Chief Award; Gary Germany and Jake Blanchard, Firefighter Rookies of the Year; Shane Stuntz, President's Award; Chris Deroche, Firefighter of the Year; Jimmy Babin of Creative Cajun Cooking, Community Service Award; Donnie Heber, Member of the Year; Mike Breaux, Stacy Denham and Kim Poche, Key Persons of the Year; Scott Cohenour and Justin Pauler, Training Award; St. Amant Ladies Auxiliary Program, Banquet Dedication; and, James E. LeBlanc (15 years) and Adam Gautreaux (10 years), Service Awards.