Annual Scholarship Awards announced

Staff Writer
Gonzales Weekly Citizen

During the regular weekly worship service on July 12, the St. Paul Baptist Church Scholarship Committee presented its annual Honor Roll and Scholarship awards.

The students, who are members of the St. Paul Baptist Church, received monetary awards for achieving honor roll for the entire previous school year. Those recipients are Malanna Johnson, Erin Gibbs, Tyria Williams, Cade Moore, Tori Davis, Tarrence Williams, Taliyah Goings and Chad Zeno.

The annual scholarship award in the amount of $500 was presented to Takiya Bennett, in the name of the college or university of her choice. Bennett is the daughter of the late John Bennett, Sr. and Katherine Bennett of Gonzales. She is a member of the St. Paul youth choir and a 2015 graduate of Dutchtown High School. Trelyn Johnson, another high school graduate was also an award recipient.

This year, for the first time ever, the church presented monetary awards to students who completed their post secondary education. Those recipients are Fenisha Dorsey Favorite, Shamory Favorite, Symone Miller, Sha’Wanda Johnson, Na’sheka Thompson and Na’Quetta Thompson.

Church officials said they wish to congratulate all of the award recipients.

“We are praying for their continued success and we know that the best is yet to come,” officials said in a press release.