Sheriff Wiley awards scholarships to college-bound teens

Staff Writer
Gonzales Weekly Citizen
Jordan Logarbo; Allison Hudson, Ascension Parish Sheriff's Office public information officer; and, Jude Graham

Sheriff Jeff Wiley announced that five high school seniors in Ascension Parish have been named recipients of an academic scholarship from the Louisiana Sheriffs' Scholarship Program for the 2012-2013 school year. All recipients reside in Ascension Parish and plan to attend colleges in the State of Louisiana.

The following students were awarded:

Jordan Logarbo; Dutchtown High School- $1,500

Jude Graham; Dutchtown High School- $500

Joseph Bollich; East Ascension High School- $500

Hunter Medine; Ascension Catholic High School- $250

Patrice West; Donaldsonville High School- $250

The Sheriff's Scholarship is made possible by the Louisiana Sheriffs' Honorary Membership Program (LSHMP). Louisiana Sheriffs' provide scholarships to graduating high school seniors from each parish where the Sheriff is an affiliate of the Program.

Qualities such as academic achievement, leadership and character are considered in making selections of Sheriffs' scholarship recipients. The only limitations are that applicants be permanent residents of Louisiana; scholarships be utilized in higher education within the State; and students be enrolled as full-time, undergraduate students. Scholarships will be awarded in sixty-three parishes throughout the state.

"Academic awards by the Louisiana Sheriffs' Scholarship Program to Louisiana students demonstrate what the LSHMP is all about," said Sheriff Wiley. "This is one of our finest accomplishments that invests in Louisiana's future and gives something back to our community. This would not be possible without the kind and generous support of Ascension Parish's Honorary Members."