Top students recognized for achievements

Staff reports
EATEL and the Ascension Parish School Board partnered to host the third annual Top Scholar’s Banquet. Shown back row from left are Ascension Parish Schools Superintendent Donald Songy, Chantell Landry, Laney Gautreau, Ian Hanlon, Michelle Krieger and Robert Burgess; front row: Arienne Ferchaud, Gabrielle Bessix and Courtney Stein; not pictured: Jeff Boudreaux. Photo provided

EATEL recently partnered with the Ascension Parish School Board to host the 2009 Top Scholar’s Banquet.

The annual event recognized the academic success of eight Ascension Parish high school seniors, as well as the teachers who have been most influential on their educational careers.

EATEL presented each student and teacher with $200 and $50 gift certificates, respectively, to use toward future academic supplies.

The recognized Top Scholars and their chosen teachers include:

• Gabrielle Bessix, Donaldsonville High School;

• Joy Spears, Donaldsonville High School teacher;

• Chantell Landry, Donaldsonville High School;

• Tarwanisha Thompson, Donaldsonville High School teacher;

• Jeff Boudreaux, Dutchtown High School;

• Bobbie Keller, Dutchtown High School teacher;

• Ian Hanlon, Dutchtown High School;

• Jackie Holdridge, Dutchtown High School teacher;

• Arienne Ferchaud, East Ascension High School;

• Jamie Andrews, East Ascension High School teacher;

• Courtney Stein, East Ascension High School;

• Bruno Van Moer, East Ascension High School teacher;

• Laney Gautreau, St. Amant High School;

• Allison Leake, St. Amant High School teacher;

• Michelle Krieger, St. Amant High School;

• Beth Templet, St. Amant High School teacher.

Held at Elegant Affairs in Gonzales, the evening included dinner and a video presentation.

The video was produced by Dutchtown High’s digital media students and featured each of the top scholars.

Jenny Heroman, EATEL Community Connection producer and anchor, served as emcee for the event, and Ascension Parish Schools Superintendent Donald Songy and EATEL President and Chief Operating Officer, Robert Burgess both addressed the audience.

EATEL recently received the 2007 Louisiana Governor’s Technology Award, “Technology Company of the Year,” and the Louisiana Department of Education’s 2007 Distinguished Partners in Education award.

EATEL was also chosen by Broadband Properties Magazine as a 2007 Cornerstone Award recipient.