Police officers honored at appreciation banquet

Wade McIntyre
Trooper Sammy Robinson, center, received the Troop A Ascension Parish Officer of the year award, presented by Cmd. Frank Ducote, left, and Col. Michael Edmonson, superintendent of Louisiana State Police.

Area police officers were recognized for outstanding public service in the line of duty during the 34th Annual Law Enforcement Appreciation Banquet in Gonzales at the St. Theresa of Avila Knights of Columbus Council 2657.

The event Sept. 23 was highlighted by a dinner and an address by guest speaker Col. Michael Edmonson, superintendent of the State Police.

Named the outstanding officer for the Gonzales Police Department was Lance Bourgeois.

Corey Prine received the Sorrento Police Department Award.

Craig Breman was the outstanding officer for the parish Sheriff’s Department.

Sammy Robinson, a resident of Ascension Parish, received the outstanding State Trooper award for the parish.

Parish President Tommy Martinez commended all law agencies in the parish for their service to the public.

Schools are a big reason why people continue moving to Ascension, he said, but people come to the parish even more because of the reputation of area law enforcement.

Edmonson reminded officers in attendance that what they are made up of on the inside is more important than their title or badge.

The true judge of a man is what he does for someone who can do nothing for him in return, Edmonson said.

“It’s an honor to wear the badge and serve the public,” he said.

Edmondson told officers to always keep in mind the core values of police work, including leadership, loyalty, respect, integrity and personal courage.

Master of Ceremonies for the event was Russell Graham, Troop A public information officer.

Sorrento Mayor Blake LeBlanc and Gonzales Mayor Barney Arceneaux each delivered welcome remarks.

Grand Knight Claude Babineaux oversaw the presentation of awards to the cited officers.

Ascension Parish Sheriff’s Department Officer Craig Breman received the parish Police Officer of the Year Award, presented by Sheriff Jeff Wiley.