Sorrento Chief of Police unopposed, two run to replace mayor

Staff reports

Town Councilman Randy Anny and Blake A. LeBlanc will vie for the Sorrento Mayor’s seat to be vacated by Mayor Brenda Melancon.

The two Democrats qualified to run in the April 4 election, according to the Ascension Parish Clerk of Court’s Office.

Sorrento Chief of Police Earl Theriot qualified without opposition and was re-elected.

Eight persons qualified for five seats on the Town Council, including incumbents Milton “Needlenose” Vicknair and Larry Lee, both Democrats.

Other qualifiers were Doug Adams, No Party; John Braud, No Party; Holly Jackson, Democrat; Wilson Longanecker Jr., Democrat; Lionel Melancon Jr., Democrat; and Donald J. Trabeaux Jr., Democrat.

Incumbent council members Troy Braud and Edwin Pezant had previously said they would not be running for re-election.