Stakeholder Advisory Committee established to assist in Master Land Use Plan

Staff Writer
Gonzales Weekly Citizen

In February, the Ascension Parish Council authorized Parish President Kenny Matassa to retain the Center for Planning Excellence (CPEX) to develop a new Master Land Use Plan. To assist in the process, a diverse advisory group of community members has been empaneled to give input and act as a sounding board for ideas.

Serving on the panel are: Barney Arceneaux, Mayor of Gonzales; Mike Lambert, Mayor of Sorrento; Jackie Baumann, Chief Engineer for the City of Gonzales; Julio Dumas, Planning and Zoning Commission member; Chad Lynch, Ascension Parish School Board Director of Planning and Construction; John Cagnolatti, Ascension Parish Councilman; Don Hanna, realtor; Matt Pryor, Planning and Zoning Commission Chair; Janet Britton, General Counsel and Executive Vice President of EATEL; Kate MacArthur, President and CEO of Ascension Economic Development Corporation.

Also serving are: Barker Dirmann, President and CEO of the Ascension Chamber of Commerce; Derrick Coco, AEDC Board member; T. Bradley Keith, principal of Gulf South Strategies and Solutions; Beth Templet, St. Amant High School Principal; Robert Burgess, President of St. Elizabeth Hospital; Ken Campbell, Executive Director of IDEA Charter Schools; Stacey Chiasson Gautreau, Louisiana Public Affairs Leader for Dow Chemical; Henry Schexnayder, Commercial Relationship Manager for Red River Bank; Denise Graves, Assistant Superintendent of Ascension Parish Schools; David Alexander, Superintendent of Ascension Parish Schools.

Also serving are: Clay Stafford, President of Double D of Louisiana LLC; Dale Doty, Chancellor of River Parishes Community College; Wanda August, Parent Facilitator for Ascension Parish School Board; Major Mike Toney with the Ascension Parish Sheriff’s Office; Dana Scott with BASF; Joyy Joseph, resident of Donaldsonville; Alyce Robinson, resident of Donaldsonville; Mike Cayette, resident of Donaldsonville; and Lee Melancon, Director of Community and Economic Development for the City of Donaldsonville.

Contributed by Ascension Parish Government