Acadiana Delegation elects officers

Staff Writer
Gonzales Weekly Citizen
Johnny Berthelot, R-Gonzales serves on the Acadiana Delegation as an executive officer. The delegation represents the 22 parishes that comprise the Acadiana region.

State Representative Mike Huval, R-Breaux Bridge, has been re-elected as Chairman of the Acadiana Legislative Delegation for 2018.

Huval represents House District 46, which includes parts of St. Martin, St. Landry and Iberia parishes. He is vice-chairman of the Municipal, Parochial and Cultural Affairs Committee and is a member of the Ways and Means and Joint Capital Outlay committees.

Joining Huval in the delegation’s executive offices are Vice-Chairman Sen. Jonathan Perry, R-Kaplan, and Secretary-Treasurer Rep. Johnny Berthelot, R-Gonzales.

All were unanimously re-elected to the seats they were elected to in 2017.

Perry, who represents Senate District 26, is vice-chairman of the Senate Judiciary C Committee and is a member of Local & Municipal Affairs Committee and the Commerce, Consumer Protection, and International Affairs Committee. He also chairs the Select Senate Committee on Veterans’ Affairs.

Berthelot represents House District 88. He is the Chairman of the Municipal, Parochial and Cultural Affairs Committee and serves on the House Appropriations Committee and the Joint Legislative Committee on the Budget.

The Acadiana Delegation was formed in 1979. It consists of 31 House members and 14 Senate members who are elected from the 22 parishes recognized by the state as the Acadiana Region.

For more information about the delegation, contact Danielle Baker, caucus administrator at 225-342-0349.

Contributed by the Louisiana House of Representatives Communications Office