Ascension Parish NAACP Awards Scholarships

Staff Writer
Gonzales Weekly Citizen
Pictured left to right: Tyler Turner, Ascension Parish NAACP President, Ty Fowler, Vice President, DeVante Williams, Executive Director, Johnathan Hodoh, Kierra Moore, Esarrah Hopkins, Jason Williams, Jaiahna Johnson, Christian Logarbo, Jennay Mitchell, Joshua Nworkorie, Mary J. Riley, Secretary, Anthony Christy, Treasurer, and Marydine Emery, Scholarship Committee Chairperson.

Eight seniors from the four public high schools in Ascension Parish were each awarded a $500 scholarship from the Ascension Parish NAACP. The scholarship winners were congratulated for their academic achievements and encouraged to pursue their dreams. The students who received the scholarships were Essarah Hopkins, Jennay Mitchell and Jason Williams of Donaldsonville High School. Jonathan Hodah, Christian Logarbo and Kierra Moore of Dutchtown High School. Jaiahna Johnson and Joshua Nworkorie of East Ascension High School. “The mission of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) is to ensure the political, educational, social and economic equality of rights of all persons and to eliminate racial hatred and racial discrimination.”