Schexnayder named Coach of the Year

Staff reports

Another year, another award -- or so it seems for Dutchtown baseball coach Chris Schexnayder.

Schexnayder, who guided Dutchtown to the District 5-5A championship and a spot in the Class 5A title tournament, was named the All-Metro Coach of the Year for Class 5A and 4A.

It marked the fourth time in five years Schexnayder received the honor, which is selected by local and area coaches.

The Griffins finished the 2012 season 27-10.

Ole Miss signee and Pittsburgh Pirates draft pick Jacob Waguespack received a first-team honor as pitcher. He finished the season 8-2 with a 0.37 ERA and 87 strikeouts in 57.33 innings at the mound.

Fellow Griffins Troy Lewis and Mason Nickens also garnered first-team spots.

Lewis, the District 5-5A MVP his senior year, chalked a 3-1 record at the mound. He also boasted a .373 batting average, with 30 RBIs.

Nickens, a junior outfielder, batted .400. He posted eight doubles, three triples and 36 RBIs.

St. Amant senior first baseman Dayne Coburn also drew a first-team honor. He finished the year with a .356 batting average, 10 doubles and 34 RBIs.

Fellow Gator Austin Tanner made the list as a utility player. He finished 6-3 at the mound with a 2.13 ERA and seven walks.

SAHS outfielder Madison Nickens got the nod with a .356 batting average, 10 doubles, 32 runs and 22 RBIs.

Jace Fairchild and Chase Rivett gained first-team honors for East Ascension.

Fairchild, a junior utility entry, notched a .388 batting average, 25 runs and 18 RBIs.

Rivett, a senior outfielder, scored 31 runs and compiled a .374 for EAHS. He had 10 doubles and 28 RBIs. for the Spartans.

Denham Springs senior Kyle Cedotal was named Outstanding Player. The District 4-5A MVP finished 10-3 at the mound and batted .427 with 14 doubles and 22 RBIs.