LSU center P.J. Lonergan named to Rimington Trophy Watch List

Staff reports
LSU center P.J. Lonergan prepares to snap to quarterback Jordan Jefferson.

BATON ROUGE - LSU junior center P.J. Lonergan is one of 42 players who have earned a spot on the watch list for the Rimington Trophy, presented annually to college football's most outstanding center, it was announced on Friday.

Lonergan headlines a list of six Southeastern Conference centers who are candidates.

While more than a dozen All-America football teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee uses these four prestigious teams to determine a winner: American Football Coaches Association, Walter Camp Foundation, Sporting News and Football Writers Association of America.

The winner will be honored at the Rimington Trophy Presentation banquet at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln, Neb., on Jan. 14, 2012. The 12-year old award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $86 million for CF Research.

Lonergan, a native of New Orleans, has started 14 consecutive games at center for the Tigers dating back to the 2010 Capital One Bowl. The junior shined in his first year as a full-time starter in 2010, playing a team-high 855 snaps with a team-best 76 knockdowns.

Lonergan came up with his best all-around game in the 2011 Cotton Bowl when he racked up a career-best 12 knockdowns in 76 snaps.

LSU has produced one Rimington Trophy winner in its illustrious football history when Ben Wilkerson captured the award during his All-America season of 2004.

2011 Rimington Trophy Watch List

Chris Anzevino, Kent State, 6'2", 305, Senior

Eloy Atkinson, UTEP, 6'3", 300, Junior

Mario Benavides, Louisville, 6'4", 300, Junior

Philip Blake, Baylor, 6'2", 315, Senior

Ben Bojicic, Bowling Green, 6'4", 295, Senior

Colin Boss, Middle Tennessee State, 6'4", 310, RS Senior

Mike Brewster, Ohio State, 6'5", 305, Senior

Terence Brown, BYU, 6'4", 330, Senior

Ben Burkett, Northwestern, 6'4", 300, Senior

Thomas Byrd, Boise State, 5'11", 288, Senior

Mike Caputo, Nebraska, 6'1", 275, Senior

Nick Carlson, Wyoming, 6'4", 292, Junior

Tom Castilaw, Arkansas State, 6'3", 280, RS Senior

Braxton Cave, Notre Dame, 6'3", 303, Senior

Trent Dupy, Tulsa, 6'2", 285, Junior

Dillon Farrell, New Mexico, 6'5", 290, RS Sophomore

James Ferentz, Iowa, 6'2", 284, Junior

Dalton Freeman, Clemson, 6'5", 285, Junior

Kevin Galeher, Western Michigan, 6'4", 312, Junior

Grant Garner, Oklahoma State, 6'3", 289, Senior

Garth Gerhart, Arizona State, 6'2", 295, RS Senior

Jeremiah Hatch, Kansas, 6'3", 332, Senior

A.J. Hawkins, Mississippi, 6'3", 313, Junior

Cam Holland, North Carolina, 6'2", 320, Senior

Tyler Horn, Miami, 6'4", 305, Senior

Grant Johnson, Oregon State, 6'3", 293, Senior

T.J. Johnson, South Carolina, 6'4", 314, Junior

Ben Jones, Georgia, 6'3", 316, Junior

Peter Konz, Wisconsin, 6'5", 313, RS Junior

Tyler Larsen, Utah State, 6'4", 297, Sophomore

P.J. Lonergan, LSU, 6'4", 300, Junior

Joe Madsen, West Virginia, 6'4", 300, RS Junior

Kai Maiava, UCLA, 6'1", 318, RS Senior

Blake McJunkin, SMU, 6'2", 290, Senior

David Molk, Michigan, 6'2", 288, RS Senior

Brian Moore, Duke, 6'2", 285, RS Junior

Moe Petrus, Connecticut, 6'2", 302, RS Senior

Weston Richburg, Colorado State, 6'4", 302, Sophomore

Darion Smith, UAB, 6'2", 280, Senior

Matt Smith, Kentucky, 6'4", 303, Junior

Travis Swanson, Arkansas, 6'5", 305, RS Sophomore

William Vlachos, Alabama, 6'1", 294, Senior

Scott Wedige, Northern Illinois, 6'4", 314, RS Senior