Edwin Morales named MVP as locals shine in LHSSCA all-star game

Michael Tortorich
Chelsea Griggs and Alyssa LeBlanc

Ascension Parish soccer players left their mark on the third annual Louisiana High School Athletic Association Soccer Coaches All-Star Classic.

In the games held Saturday at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette Track and Field Stadium, the West boys and East girls took victories.

Despite the boys loss, East Ascension’s Edwin Morales earned a personal honor and carried on a tradition for local participants – he was named the East’s Most Valuable Player. He sent a 35-yard shot left of West goalkeeper Jacob Randall in the 30th minute, giving his team a 1-0 lead.

The West boys went on to take a 2-1 win as Louis Jones placed a header inside the left side of the goal in the second half, proving to be the game clincher.

Trett Bourgeois of St. Amant joined Morales on the East squad. Bourgeois was able to get the ball into the back of the net, but the goal was called back.

The boys match followed a girls contest that went to penalty kicks after ending regulation knotted at 1-1. The East girls took a 5-3 advantage in penalty kicks.

Chelsea Griggs and Alyssa LeBlanc, both of East Ascension, were the local players for the East girls.

“All four players represented Ascension Parish exceptionally well,”?said East Ascension girls soccer head coach Chris Goodall.

Griggs was able to record two saves in goal, splitting time with two other goalkeepers.

LeBlanc played defense and midfield, helping put together the East’s lone goal in the second half to tie the game at 1-1.

“The girls played very well,”?Goodall said. “They hit the post three times in the first half, fell behind early in the second half, only to pull a goal back and then not miss any penalty kicks. Alyssa and Chelsea gave a very good account of themselves.”

Kat Cuntz of Dominican was the MVP for the East. Cuntz scored off a pass to tie the game. She missed a potential game-winning shot with less than a minute remaining.

The boys game was cancelled last year due to weather. In the inaugural event in 2009, East Ascension’s Ceasar Vallin was named MVP.

Trett Bourgeois and Edwin Morales