Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame to induct 2011 class

Staff reports

NATCHITOCHES – The Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame’s 2011 class will be inducted Saturday.

New Orleans Saints stars Morten Andersen, Vaughan Johnson and Buford Jordan, along with Todd Walker, the LSU All-American and 12-year Major League Baseball infielder, and high school football coaching great Don Shows, are among the eight 2011 inductees who will enter the state hall of fame.

NBA standout Donald “Slick” Watts, Louisiana-Lafayette softball All-America pitcher Kyla Hall Holas and innovative LSU Athletic Director Thomas P. “Skipper” Heard complete the 2011 induction class. Heard will be honored posthumously.

New Orleans native Elmo Adolph, a world-renowned boxing official, and Billy Montgomery, who as a highly-regarded state legislator championed sports causes including construction of the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame museum, are the 2011 recipients of the Dave Dixon Louisiana Sports Leadership Award.

Also honored will be two recipients of the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s Distinguished Service Award in Sports Journalism, New Orleans-based sportswriter Ron Brocato and longtime Southeastern Louisiana University sports information director Larry Hymel.