Justin Boudreaux garners All-Southland Conference honor

Staff reports

FRISCO, Texas — Junior shortstop Justin Boudreaux, a former Dutchtown standout, highlighted a group of seven Southeastern Louisiana University student-athletes named to the 2011 All-Southland Conference Baseball team released Monday.

Boudreaux was a second-team selection.

He finished third during the regular season in hitting with a .332 average while finishing second in both home runs (8) and RBI (48). The former Griffin tied for the team lead with 13 doubles and was second in stolen bases (14).

The 2011 Southland Conference Baseball Tournament gets underway Wednesday at Bobcat Ballpark in San Marcos, Texas. The winner of the double-elimination tournament earns the league’s automatic berth into the NCAA tournament, which starts June 3 with regional play.

2011 All-Southland Conference Baseball Teams

First Team

Pos. – Name, University, Class, Hometown

1B – Casey Kalenkosky, Texas State, Jr., San Antonio, Texas

2B – Tyler Sibley, Texas State, Jr., Frisco, Texas

3B – Kyle Kubitza, Texas State, Jr., Colleyville, Texas

SS – Jace Peterson, McNeese State, Jr., Lake Charles, La.

C – Jarid Scarafiotti, Stephen F. Austin, Jr., Shreveport, La.

OF – Bryson Myles, Stephen F. Austin, Jr., Grand Prairie, Texas

OF – Matt Holland, A&M-Corpus Christi, Sr., Watkins, Iowa

OF – Lee Orr, McNeese State, Jr., El Campo, Texas

DH – Chris Andreas, Sam Houston State, Sr., Brenham, Texas

P – Carson Smith, Texas State, Jr., Midland, Texas

P – Seth Webster, Nicholls, Jr., Deville, La.

P – Matt Shelton, Sam Houston State, Sr., Mansfield, Texas

Second Team

1B – Trey Hernandez, A&M-Corpus Christi, Sr., Robstown, Texas

2B – Ryan Mooney, Sam Houston State, Sr., The Woodlands, Texas

3B – Brian Nephew, UT Arlington, Sr., Arlington, Texas

SS – Justin Boudreaux, Southeastern La., Jr., Prairieville, La.

C – Andrew Stumph, Texas State, So., Katy, Texas

OF – Jonathan Davis, Central Arkansas, Fr., Camden, Ark.

OF – Seth Granger, McNeese State, Jr., Iowa, La.

OF – Jeff McVaney, Texas State, Jr., Houston, Texas

DH – Jeremy Hill, Nicholls, Jr., Long Beach, Miss.

P – Tyler Watkins, Southeastern La., Sr., Petal, Miss.

P – Brandon Efferson, Southeastern La., Sr., Zachary, La.

P – Jordan LeGros, McNeese State, Sr., Lafayette, La.

Third Team

1B – Ryan Hutson, UTSA, Sr., Round Rock, Texas

2B – Brock Hebert, Southeastern La., So., Bourg, La.

3B – Ryan Dalton, UTSA, So., Sugar Land, Texas

SS – Chase Jaramillo, Nicholls, Sr., Andalusia, Ala.

C – Chad Comer, UT Arlington, Sr., Mansfield, Texas

OF – Colin Bear, Northwestern State, Jr., Houston, Texas

OF – Jeff Harkensee, Southeastern La., Sr., Arlington Heights, Ill.

OF – Jeff Abt, Lamar, Jr., Houston, Texas

P – Dustin Ward, Central Arkansas, Jr., Little Rock, Ark.

P – Luke Irvine, Northwestern State, Sr., Liberty, Mo.

P – Blake Ford, Lamar, Sr., Lufkin, Texas

Honorable Mention – First Base: Jonathan Pace, Southeastern Louisiana. Second Base: Ryan Walker, UT Arlington. Third Base: Renny Weber, McNeese State. Shortstop: Braeden Riley, Sam Houston State. Catcher: Tyler Carpenter, UTSA; Joey Latulippe, Lamar. Outfield: Riley Good, UTSA; Jacob Perales, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi; Ted Zentek, Lamar. Pitchers: Colton Turner, Texas State; Jason West, Stephen F. Austin; Casey Selsor, UTSA; Stefan Lopez, Southeastern Louisiana; Brandon Kimbrel, Sam Houston State; Jared West, Stephen F. Austin; Jeff McVaney, Texas State.

Player of the Year: Bryson Myles, Stephen F. Austin

Hitter of the Year: Bryson Myles, Stephen F. Austin

Pitcher of the Year: Carson Smith, Texas State

Relief Pitcher of the Year: Jordan LeGros, McNeese State

Freshman of the Year: Jonathan Davis, Central Arkansas

Newcomer of the Year: Bryson Myles, Stephen F. Austin

Coach of the Year: Ty Harrington, Texas State