Locals highlight All District 6-5A team

Michael Tortorich
Troy Lewis of Dutchtown was selected Most Valuable Player for 2011 in District 6-5A.

Ascension Parish teams were well-represented in the 2011 All District 6-5A honors.

Dutchtown junior Troy Lewis was named Most Valuable Player and his coach, Chris Schexnaydre, was chosen Coach of the Year.

Lewis was a first-team selection as pitcher and infield. He compiled a 6-1 record on the mound, which included a no-hit performance during district competition.

Schexnaydre, in his fourth year as head coach and ninth year at Dutchtown, led the Griffins to an undefeated district record and championship. The Griffins took a 21-game winning streak into the playoffs, ending with a 5-3 loss to Denham Springs in the regional round. Dutchtown finished with a 27-6 overall record.

East Ascension senior Sean Todd took Gold Glove honors.

Several parish players made the first team. Jacob Waguepack of Dutchtown and Justin Manton were first-team pitchers. East Ascension’s Jack Cockrum and Dutchtown’s Alex Thibodeaux were the top catchers. Lewis and Tylor Gonzales of St. Amant were infield selections. Dutchtown’s Matt Willis and St. Amant’s Tyler Guillory were first-team outfield. Utility choices were Jacob Williams of Dutchtown, Chase Rivett of East Ascension, Eric Babin of Dutchtown and Daniel St. Pierre of St. Amant.

Second team selections were Emerson Foster (East Ascension), Tyler Robertson (East Ascension), Stephen Cardinale (St. Amant), Cole Benoit (St. Amant), Devin Speligene (East Ascension), Branson Bowen (St. Amant), Leon Blouin (Dutchtown), Chris Sanchez (East Ascension), Hayden Fenley (East Ascension), Mason Nickens (Dutchtown), Jace Fairchild (East Ascension), Tanner Sheets (St. Amant) and Madison Nickens (St. Amant).

First team


Troy Lewis, junior, Dutchtown

Jacob Waguespack, junior, Dutchtown

Brandt Bourgeois, senior, Destrehan

Justin Manton, senior, St. Amant


Alex Thibodeaux, sophomore, Dutchtown

Jack Cockrum, senior, East Ascension


Troy Lewis, junior, Dutchtown

Tylor Gonzales, junior, St. Amant

Ashton Lewis, junior, East St. John

Mike Ford, junior, Hahnville


Cody Farrell, junior, Hahnville

Matt Willis, senior, Dutchtown

Zach Schexnaydre, senior, Destrehan

Tyler Guillory, junior, St. Amant


Jacob Williams, senior, Dutchtown

Chase Rivett, junior, East Ascension

Eric Babin, senior, Dutchtown

Daniel St. Pierre, senior, St. Amant

Designated hitter

Ryan Burks, junior, Destrehan

Gold Glove:?Sean Todd, senior, East Ascension

Most Valuable:?Troy Lewis, junior, Dutchtown

Coach of the Year:?Chris Schexnaydre, Dutchtown

Second team


Emerson Foster, senior, East Ascension

Tyler Robertson, sophomore, East Ascension

Stephen Cardinale, junior, St. Amant

Adam Dufrene, senior, Hahnville


Cole Benoit, senior, St. Amant

Jared Vial, senior, Hahnville


Devin Speligene, sophomore, East Ascension

Branson Bowen, sophomore, St. Amant

Jace Weber, sophomore, Destrehan

Tyler Cooper, senior, Hahnville


Andrew Taylor, senior, East St. John

Leon Blouin, senior, Dutchtown

Chris Sanchez, junior, East Ascension

Hayden Fenley, junior, East Ascension


Mason Nickens, sophomore, Dutchtown

Jace Fairchild, sophomore, East Ascension

Tanner Sheets, senior, St. Amant

Madison Nickens, senior, St. Amant

Blake Hymel, sophomore, Destrehan

Tyler Simmons, sophomore, Hahnville

Honorable Mention

Lucas Shipman, junior, Dutchtown

Cody Daffron, senior, East Ascension

Easton Melancon, sophomore, Hahnville

Jesse Bryant, sophomore, Destrehan

East Ascension’s Sean Todd won the Gold Glove award.