All-District 6-5A softball selections announced

Michael Tortorich
East Ascension head coach Amy Pitre shared Coach of the Year honors in District 6-5A with Hahnville’s Kenneth Vial.

East Ascension’s head coach, Amy Pitre, and senior pitcher, Chelsea LeBlanc, received top honors on the All-District 6-5A team, released this week.

LeBlanc, who pitched and batted for the Spartans, shared the Most Valuable Player distinction with Hahnville senior Elise deBruler.

Pitre, in her fourth year at East Ascension, guided the Spartans to their second-straight appearance in the state tournament in Sulphur this year. The Spartans edged Ascension Parish rival St. Amant in the opening round in Sulphur, before being eliminated in the next round.

Pitre shared Coach of the Year honors with Hahnville’s Kenneth Vial, who led his team to the Class 5A state championship. It was Hahnville’s first softball title.

2011 All-District 6-5A

First team pitchers:

Alexi Reynolds, Sr., Dutchtown

Chelsea LeBlanc, Sr., East Ascension

Hannah Haydel, Jr., Hahnville

Kasey Nielson, Soph., St. Amant

First team catchers:

Jade Bourgeois, Sr., Dutchtown

Tiffany Robinson, Sr., East Ascension

Amye Barre, Jr., Hahnville

First team infielders:

Kyleigh LeBlanc, Soph., East Ascension

Elise deBruler, Sr., Hahnville

Courtney Dutreix, Jr., Hahnville

Summer Melancon, Jr., Hahnville

Whitney Troxclair, Jr., St. Amant

Allison Crum, Jr., Dutchtown

First team outfielders:

Taylor Webre, Sr., Hahnville

Alexandra Friloux, Jr., Hahnville

Bailey Landry, Soph., East Ascension

Jade St. Pierre, Sr., East Ascension

First team designated player:

Jessica Crum, Fr., Dutchtown

First team utility:

Falynn Rouyea, Sr., St. Amant

Nicol Haydel, Soph., Destrehan

Hope Mair, Jr., Hahnville

MVP: Chelsea LeBlanc, Sr., East Ascension

Elise deBruler, Sr., Hahnville

Second team pitcher:

Aleah Craighton, Soph., Dutchtown

Second team catcher: Jasmine Brown, Sr., East St. John

Second team infielders: Brooke Delaune, Soph., East Ascension

Kendall Burgess, Soph., East Ascension

Hayley Lavigne, Jr., St. Amant

Michelle Haydel, Soph., Destrehan

Brionne Winey, Jr., Dutchtown

Second team outfield:

Abby Boutte, Sr., Hahnville

Kirsten Despino, Soph., St. Amant

Carey Alexis, Jr., Dutchtown

Second team designated player:

Megan Bush, Soph., Hahnville

Second team utility:

Tia Patterson, Soph., Dutchtown

Honorable mention:

Kristen Latiolais, Sr., Dutchtown

Hayden Wood, Jr., Dutchtown

Allison Hope, Jr., St. Amant

Madison Edmonston, Fr., St. Amant

Brooke Roberts, Soph., St. Amant

Gabrielle Felps, Jr., St. Amant

Arden Delany, Jr., St. Amant

Jessica Sanford, Soph., East St. John

Abbie Hall, Soph., Destrehan

Natalie Babineaux, Jr., Destrehan

Amanda Rodriguez, Jr., Destrehan

Aimee Sylvester, Sr., Destrehan

Carmisha Payton, Fr., East Ascension

Brooke Courville, Jr., East Ascension

Kacie Palmer, Jr., East Ascension

Coach of the Year: Amy Pitre, East Ascension; Kenneth Vial, Hahnville

East Ascension senior Chelsea LeBlanc was named MVP in District 6-5A.