Beier inducted into 4-H Hall of Fame

Staff Report

MANSURA, La. – Dr. Katherine Beier, of Ascension Parish was one of a dozen new members of the Louisiana 4-H Hall of Fame recognized at a ceremony Aug. 11 at the Louisiana 4-H Museum for their years of service to 4-H clubs across the state.

Beier, has helped 4-H’ers for 13 years, founding the 4-H Home Grown Club for home-schooled youth and children in schools without clubs.

She coordinated a broad range of programs including commodity cookery contests, ambassador contests, clothing, livestock and quiz bowls.

Beier has served as superintendent of the 4-H Rabbit Shows for 12 years and implemented the parish premier rabbit exhibitor contest. She has also helped parish 4-H members prepare for 4-H University.

Each year Beier donates her time and veterinary skills to test animals and issue health certificates for 4-H livestock projects. In 2008, she was awarded the LSU AgCenter Award of Excellence for volunteer efforts.

Also at the ceremony, Mary Lee Dixon, of Ascension Parish with the Lamar-Dixon Foundation, and Brent Scallan, of Marksville, were honored for their contributions and help for the museum project.

 Paul Coreil, LSU AgCenter vice chancellor for extension, said 4-H has changed to reflect the changes in youth, but the organization’s core values remain intact to guide youngsters with responsibility, work ethic and character.

 “We’ve got to find the interests to get to that child,” he said.

 Coreil said 240,000 Louisiana students are in 4-H, and the number is increasing because school principals recognize the organization’s value.

 “They know that 4-H lets you do things you will not be able to do in an academic setting,” Coreil said.

 He said volunteers will be asked to do even more to help 4-H programs because of pending budget cuts to higher education. “There will be a reduction in programs and a reduction in people.”

 So far, 124 people have been inducted into the Hall of Fame. Their photographs and biographical sketches are part of a Hall of Fame exhibit at the museum.

 Coreil said the museum has exceeded expectations since its opening last year.

 “The museum is second to none in the U.S.,” Coreil said.

 Hall of Fame inductees were: Dr. Katherine Beier, of Ascension Parish; Sharon Chatagnier, of Terrebonne Parish; Anne Chauvin, of Lafayette Parish.; Jack Dillard, of Caddo Parish; Stanley J. Lamendola, of East Baton Rouge Parish;  Alice LeJeune, of Rapides Parish; Denver T. Loupe, of East Baton Rouge Parish; Johnny L. May, of DeSoto Parish; Mamie McMillion, of St. Charles Parish; David Saucier, of Bienville Parish; Albert H. Steinbach (deceased), of East Baton Rouge Parish; and Otis J. Stelly Sr. (deceased), of Vermilion Parish.