Teachers of the Year honored

Wade McIntyre
Ascension Parish School Superintendent Patrice Pujol is pictured with Teacher of the Year recipients, from left, Katie Rouillier of Dutchtown Middle, Daryl Comery Jr. from Donaldsonville High, and Kimberly T. Robin of Gonzales Primary.

Three Ascension Parish teachers were named Ascension Parish Schools Teacher of the Year at the regular meeting of the School Board Tuesday at East Ascension High School in Gonzales.

Daryl Comery Jr. of Donaldsonville High School received the High School Teacher of the Year Award.

Katie Rouillier of Dutchtown Middle was the parish Middle School Teacher of the Year.

Kimberly T. Robin of Gonzales Primary was Elementary Teacher of the Year.

The teachers were presented their awards by School Superintendent Patrice Pujol.

Also during the session, nearly a dozen area schools received recognition and were awarded presentation flags for Exemplary Academic Growth and Academic Growth, representing improved academic outcomes for their students.

Receiving Exemplary Academic Growth flags were Central Primary, Dutchtown Primary, G.W. Parker Primary, Lake Elementary, Dutchtown Middle, Central Middle, Lowery Intermediate, Prairieville Middle, Dutchtown High School, East Ascension High School, and St. Amant High School.

Galvez Primary received an Academic Growth flag.

Pujol said it was phenomenal day in the parish when so many schools achieve improved outcomes for their students.