Ascension Tourism Commission names 2010 board

Staff Report

 The Ascension Parish Tourism Commission Friday announced its newly elected 2010 Board of Directors.

Elinda Taillon of Prairieville, Rail Command Center coordinator with BASF Corporation, was named chairman.

Susan Ringwald of Gonzales, a senior sales manager with the Belle of Baton Rouge Hotel, was elected vice-chairman.

The treasurer /secretary is Ooly Lejeune of Gonzales, the co-owner of Industrial Municipal Supply and LeJeune’s Cleaners.

Returning board members include Cecily Boudreaux of Darrow and Wendy Perniciaro of Donaldsonville.

Walter R. Hays, Jr. of Gonzales, Tony D. Lawson of Prairieville, and Lejeune are joining the board for the first time.

Former board chairman Robert Judice of Darrow is advisor to the board. Judice is a past two term Board Member on the Ascension Parish Tourism Commission Board.

He served for two years as Secretary/Treasurer and or two years as Board Chairman.

The board works to promote business and tourism in the parish.

Currently, a major re-branding effort for the parish is underway, including the creation of a new advertising campaign and website.

Employees at the commission office in Sorrento include Ramon Gomez, project and events manager; Loretta A. Templet, information specialist; Tina Bouchreau, office assistant/travel counselor; Johnnie Balfantz, part-time travel counselor.