All-district honors flow in for Ascension Parish players, coaches

Michael Tortorich
Charles Caballero of Ascension Catholic was named the District 8-1A Most Valuable Player.

Several Ascension Parish baseball players garnered honors as all-district teams were recently announced.

East bank teams landed 11 players on the first team and 8 on the second team for District 6-5A.

District leaders Destrehan swept the top honors as Sam Carriere took Most Valuable Player and Marty Luquet claimed Coach of the Year.

Ascension Catholic’s Charles Caballero was named Most Valuable Player for District 8-1A, while his coach, Todd Landry, was Coach of the Year.

Eight Bulldogs were on the first team.

Ascension Christian standout Beau Blanchard was on the second team.

District 6-5A

First team

Pitchers: Kurt McCune, Destrehan, Sr.; Matt Allo, Hahnville, Sr.; Alec Singletary, East Ascension, Sr.; Dylan Delaune, St. Amant, Sr.

Catchers: Lee Elisar, St. Amant, Sr.; Jack Cockrum, East Ascension, Jr.

Infielders: Sam Carriere, Destrehan, Sr.; Matt Smith, Destrehan, Sr.; Britt Gautreaux, Dutchtown, Sr.; Troy Lewis, Dutchtown, So.

Outfielders: Tyler Guillory, St. Amant, So.; Dylan Lucich, Destrehan, Sr.; Jared Harrell. Hahnville, Sr.; Matt Willis, Dutchtown, Jr.

Utility: Scott Stonestreet, Destrehan, Sr.; Jesse Buratt, Dutchtown, Sr.; Dillon Morin, St. Amant, Sr.; Ryne Robert, Hahnville, Sr.

Designated hitter: Chris Sanchez, East Ascension, So.

Second team

Pitchers: Ethan Hutson, Destrehan; Bryton Trepangier, East St. John; Jacob Williams, Dutchtown; Brandt Bourgeois, Destrehan.

Catchers: Steven Bright, Dutchtown; Shane Nicholson, East St. John.

Infielders: Jared Kleinpeter, East Ascension; Dillon Boudreaux, Hahnville; Labaron Sylvester, East St. John; Tanner Sheets, St. Amant; John DeArmond, East Asension; Mike Ford, Hahnville.

Outfielders: Austin Todd, East Ascension; Renauldo Young, East St. John; Zach Schexnaydre, Destrehan; Brandon Ballard, Dutchtown.

Designated hitter: Kenny Wilkins, St. Amant.

Most Valuable Player: Sam Carriere, Destrehan

Golden Glove: Sam Carriere, Destrehan

Coach of the Year: Marty Luquet, Destrehan

District 8-1A

First team

Pitchers: Charles Caballero, Ascension Catholic, Sr.; Isaac O’Bear, White Castle, So.; Eddie Godoy, Christian Life, Sr.; Taylor Marcello, Ascension Catholic, Sr.

Catcher: Cole Verret, St. John, Jr.

Infielders: Milo Godoy, Christian Life, Jr.; Landon Landry, St. John, Sr.; Jesse Pizzolato, Ascension Catholic, Sr.; Adam Falcon, Ascension Catholic, Jr.

Outfielders: Corey David, St. John, Sr.; Tyree Bracken, West St. John, So.; Jordan Landry, Ascension Catholic, Sr.; Jarris Moll, West St. John, So.

Designated hitter: Brandon Burns, Ascension Catholic, Sr.

Utility: Tre Daze, Ascension Catholic, Jr.; Taylor Cavalier, Ascension Catholic, Jr.

Second team

Pitchers: Dakota Richard, St. John, So.; Luke Little, Christian Life, So.; Kade Yarbrough, St. John, Jr.; Tyler Shields, St. John, Jr.

Catcher: Jake McCan, Christian Life, Jr.

Infielders: Mike Martinez, St. John, Jr.; Wesley Miller, St. John, Jr.; Barry Hason, West St. John, Jr.; Gerod Carline, White Castle, So.

Outfielders: Steven Brocksmith, St. John, Sr.; Dedrick Gore, White Castle, Jr.; Ryan Suarez, St. John, Sr.; Caleb Domingue, Christian Life, Fr.

Designated hitter: Beau Blanchard, Ascension Christian, Jr.

Utility: Brad Morris, East Iberville, Sr.; Matt Marionneaux, St. John, Sr.

Most Valuable Player: Charles Caballero, Ascension Catholic

Coach of the Year: Todd Landry, Ascension Catholic

Ascension Catholic coach Todd Landry received Coach of the Year honors in District 8-1A.