Reid headlines all-District 6-5A team

Peter Silas Pasqua
Dutchtown’s Eric Reid was recently named District 6-5A Defensive MVP after registering 45 tackles, three fumble recoveries and three interceptions.

Dutchtown senior safety Eric Reid battled back from offseason shoulder surgery to garner the District 6-5A Defensive MVP selected recently by coaches.

A total of 13 Ascension Parish athletes were named to the 6-5A first-team.

Reid was joined on  defense by two teammates, sophomore defensive lineman Aaron Davis and sophomore linebacker Landon Collins, East Ascension senor defensive lineman Q’Dareus Lomas and junior linebacker Wade Julien and St. Amant junior defensive back Breck Schexnayder.

Dutchtown junior running back Effrem Reed was joined on the first-team offense by teammate, junior tackle Colby Crysel, East Ascension senior guard Adam Thompson and St. Amant senior tackle Marvin Martin.

Area players also swept special teams picks as Dutchtown junior return specialist Johnathan Darville was joined by teammate, senior punter Connor Fryoux and St. Amant junior kicker Justin Manton.

Dutchtown, which advanced to the Class 5A playoffs, also landed four on the second team ­– senior defensive back Marcus Godfrey, junior defensive back Shaquille Lewis, senior defensive lineman John Williams and junior tight end Max Rought.

East Ascension had seven make the all-district second team – senior running back Avery Williams, sophomore center Jon Karrer, senior tight end Ryan Avrill, junior defensive lineman Scott Bosworth, junior linebacker Irvin Nash, junior linebacker Donovan Hill and junior defensive back Kadarius Williams.

St. Amant also had seven players selected to the second-team – senior wide receiver Chase Keller, senior guard Christian Jenkins, senior tackle Dillon Delaune, junior defensive lineman Seth Vaccaro, junior linebacker Marlon?Bourgeois, senior linebacker Chase Hitchcock and senior linebacker Tyler Schexnayder.

Dutchtown honorable mention selections were senior linebacker Jacob Magee, senior linebacker Caleb Cognevich, senior defensive lineman Telfrey Gaines, senior defensive lineman Staff Ulrich, sophomore offensive lineman Jared Spirggs and sophomore running back Troy Lewis.

Honorable mention picks from East Ascension were senior guard Landon Gauthier, senior defensive lineman Sebastion Gaona, senior defensive back Damien Banner and sophomore running back Jarmarcus Jarvis.

Senior running back Alfred Blue of District 6-5A champion Hahnville was the Offensive MVP, while the Tigers’ coach Lou Valdin received Coach of the Year.

Reid, a first-team pick a year ago, had 45 tackles including five for losses, three fumble recoveries and three interceptions.

Reed, a second-team pick last season, rushed for 962 yards and 11 touchdowns on 178 attempts while catching 20 passes for 300 yards and one touchdown. Crysel, a two-year starter, helped paved the way for the Griffins to rush for 2,276 yards. Rought caught 11 receptions for 175 yards and three touchdowns. Darville returned seven punts for 78 yards and one touchdown while bringing back nine kickoffs for 198 yards.

Collins had 55 tackles, including seven for losses, 3.5 sacks, two fumble recoveries and one interception. Davis produced 28 tackles, including five for loss and had two sacks and one fumble recovery. Godfrey, a second-team pick a year ago, registered 19 tackles, one fumble recovery, three interceptions and two pass break ups. Lewis had 43 tackles, including four for losses, three fumble recoveries, one interception and five pass break ups. Williams also had 29 tackles, three for losses, six sacks and two fumble recoveries.

Lomas, a second-team pick last season, registered 57 tackles, 38 assists, and 17 for loss, caused three fumbles and recovered two, had five sacks and batted down two passes. Julien, also a second-team selection last season, produced 100 tackles, 44 assists and three for losses, while causing one fumble and making two sacks. Bosworth had 29 tackles, 24 assists, eight for losses and three caused fumbles. Nash registered 53 tackles, 35 assists, 11 for loss, three caused fumbles and two sacks. Hill produced 31 tackles, 22 assists, two fumble recoveries and two passes batted down. Williams also had 23 tackles, two assists, nine pass break ups and one interception.

Thompson, a second-team pick last season, helped pave the way for the Spartans to rush for 2,068 yards. Williams rushed for 878 yards and eight touchdowns on 123 attempts. Arvill caught two passes for 15 yards.

Martin, a second-team pick last season, Jenkins and Delaune helped the Gators rush for a school record 2,773 yards. Keller, also a second-team selection a year ago, caught 14 receptions for 279 yards and two touchdowns. Manton, a second-team punter last year,  made 46-of-47 extra points and was six-of-eight on field goals including a school-record 54-yard long.

Schexnayder had 28 tackles, 42 assists, two for losses, three quarterback hurries, one sack, three interceptions and one fumble recovery. Vaccaro had 27 tackles, 33 assists, seven for loss, four hurries and one sack. Bourgeois registered six tackles, 26 assists, four for losses, three hurries and three sacks. Hitchcock produced 23 tackles, 41 assists, four for losses, four hurries and caused one fumble. Schexnayder had 28 tackles, 42 assists, two for loss, three hurries and one sack.

First Team


C    Ashton Duhe    Destrehan              Sr.

G    Alvin Kelly     Hahnville               Jr.

G    Adam Thompson    East Ascension          Sr.

T    Colby Crysel     Dutchtown              Jr.

T    Marvin Martin     St. Amant                Sr.

TE    Byron?Gauthier    Hahnville                Sr.

WR    James?Butler     Hahnville               Sr.

WR    D’Haquille Williams     East St. John           Jr.

RB    Alfred Blue     Hahnville                Sr.

RB    Reynaldo Young      East St. John           Sr.

RB    Effrem Reed     Dutchtown              Jr.

QB    Brian Ensminger     Hahnville                Jr.

PK    Justin Manton     St. Amant               Jr.

RS    Johnathan Darville    Dutchtown             Jr.

First Team


DL    Justin Hill    Hahnville                Sr.

DL     Calvin Ursin    Destrehan               Sr.

DL    Q’Dareus Lomas     East Ascension          Sr.

DL    Aaron Davis     Dutchtown So.

LB    Ben Taylor     Hahnville                 Jr.

LB    Jared Matherne    Destrehan               Sr.

LB    Landon Collins    Dutchtown              So.

LB?    Wade Julien     East Ascension        Jr.

DB    Brion James     Hahnville                 Sr.

DB    Darian Monroe     East St. John            So.

DB    Breck Schexnayder     St. Amant                Jr.

DB    Eric Reid     Dutchtown               Sr.

P     Conner Fryoux    Dutchtown               Sr.

Offensive MVP: Alfred Blue, Hahnville

Defensive MVP: Eric Reid,?Dutchtown

Coach of the Year: Lou Valdin, Hahnville