Candidates qualify for Sorrento Council, Justice Court

Staff reports

Four persons qualified for the Sorrento Town Council seat vacated by the sudden resignation of former councilman Larry Lee in July.

Former councilwoman Troy Braud (D) and Donald J. Trabeaux Jr. (D), who was temporarily appointed to fill the seat until the election, both qualified.

Also qualifying were Marvin L. Martin (D) and Lonnie Kirk (D).

The Oct. 17 special election to fill the seat will be Oct. 17.

Four persons also qualified for the Justice of the Peace 2nd Justice Court, including Pamela K. Alonso, Cynthia A. Jenkins, Leroy J. Laiche, and Melanie Moran.

All the Justice Court qualifiers are Republicans.