Sorrento elects LeBlanc mayor

Staff reports
Blake A. LeBlanc

SORRENTO – Voters in the Town of Sorrento elected a new mayor and a new council Saturday.

Blake A. LeBlanc won 52.41 percent of the vote to Councilman Randy Anny’s 47.59 percent of the vote in the election for Mayor of the Town of Sorrento, according to unofficial election results from the Louisiana Secretary of State’s Office.

LeBlanc received 228 votes, to 207 votes for Anny. Both LeBlanc and Anny ran as Democrats.

Brenda Melancon currently serves as mayor of the Ascension Parish town.

With five council members to be elected, the following results have been posted for candidates running for seats on the town’s council:

• Wilson Longanecker Jr., D, received 18.58 percent of the vote with 344 total votes.

• John Braud, N, received 15.07 percent of the vote with 279 votes.

• Lionel Melancon Jr., D, received 12.70 percent of the vote with 235 votes.

• Larry Lee, D, received 12.26 percent of the vote with 227 votes.

• Milton “Needlenose” Vicknair, D, received 11.94 percent of the vote with 221 votes.

• Donald J. Trabeaux Jr., D, received 11.45 percent of the vote with 212 votes.

• “Doug” Adams, N, received 9.29 percent of the vote with 172 votes.

• Holly Jackson, D, received 8.70 percent of the vote with 161 votes.

Vicknair and Lee, both Democrats, were the only incumbents running for council member spots. Incumbents Troy Braud and Edwin Pezant did not choose to enter the race.

Police Chief Earl Theriot qualified without opposition and was re-elected to the post.

Larry Lee