Sullivan, Irvin appointed to LAA

Staff reports

BATON ROUGE – Mayor Leroy Sullivan of Donaldsonville and  L.C. Irvin of Gonzales, a chief deputy in the Ascension Parish Sheriff’s Office, were recently named to the revamped Louisiana Airport Authority representing Ascension Parish.

Sullivan and Irvin were among 11 appointments named to the authority Wednesday by Gov. Bobby Jindal.

The LAA is designed to draft a preliminary business plan for development of the Louisiana Transportation Center, a proposed multimodal facility to be located near Donaldsonville.

The authority will also submit a recommendation pertaining to the economic feasibility of the Louisiana Transportation Center to the Joint Legislative Committee on the Budget.

The board is comprised of 11 voting members. Two members represent Ascension Parish, one member represents St. James Parish, two members represent Assumption Parish, two members represent Iberville Parish, and one member serves at large. The secretary of the Department of Economic Development and the secretary of the Department of Transportation, or their designees, as well as the governor, or his designee, also serve on the LAA.

Other Jindal appointments announced Wednesday include:

• Stephen Moret, Secretary of Louisiana Department of Economic Development, serving in an ex-officio capacity.

• Bill Ankners, Secretary of Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development, serving in an ex-officio capacity.

• Lane Grigsby of Baton Rouge, chairman of the board of directors for Cajun Industries, LLC, a Louisiana construction firm, serving as an at-large member.

• St. James Parish President Dale Hymel, Jr., of Lutcher, representing that parish, serving at large.

• Harold P. Schexnayder, of White Castle, was a former member of the White Castle town council for over 30 years, representing Iberville Parish.

• Russ Settoon, of Pierre Part, president and chief executive officer of Settoon Towing, LLC, representing Assumption Parish.

•  John “Randy” Sexton, of Grosse Tete, director of intergovernmental affairs for the Moore and Van Allen Law Firm, representing Iberville Parish.

• Mike Waguespack, of Napoleonville, Sheriff of Assumption Parish, representing that parish.

• Mike Wampold, III, of Baton Rouge, is the chief executive officer of Wampold Companies, a real estate development company, serving as the Governor’s designee.