Offices, issues on the line in elections Saturday

Aaron Looney

Ascension Parish voters will decide the fates of numerous public offices, as well as two charter amendments and a tax renewal during Saturday’s primary elections.

Polling places throughout the parish open at 8 a.m. and close at 6 p.m.

Any runoffs from Saturday’s election will be decided on the Nov. 4 presidential election date.

Topping the ballot in multi-parish district races are the contests for 23rd Judicial District Attorney, Associate Justice on the Louisiana Supreme Court and the District 1 seat on the state’s Public Service Commission.

Incumbent Justice Catherine “Kitty” Kimball (D-Ventress) faces a challenge from current Appeals Court Judge Jeff Hughes (R-Walker).

The four men vying to take over for retiring District Attorney Anthony Falterman include current Assistant District Attorneys Ricky Babin of Gonzales and Charles “Chuck Long of Donaldsonville, former State Sen. Louis J. Lambert of Prairieville and retired District Judge Pegram J. Mire Jr. of Donaldsonville. All four men in the race are registered Democrats.

Those seeking the PSC seat include Bruce Kincade (NP-Metairie), Kenneth Odinet Sr. (R-Arabi), John F. Schwegmann (NP-Metairie) and Eric Skrmetta (R-Metairie).

The four look to succeed current Commissioner and PSC Chairman Jay Blossman Jr. of Mandeville, who withdrew from the election earlier this year.

In local races, Barney Arceneaux and Martin McConnell, both Democrats, look to take over for retiring Gonzales Mayor Johnny Berthelot. Meanwhile, Democrats Chris Anderson and Sherman Jackson hope to succeed the outgoing Bill Landry as chief of police in Gonzales.

Three of the city’s council seats are also on the line Saturday. Democrat Brad “Plug” Lavigne challenges incumbent Division A Councilman Kenny Matassa, also a Democrat. The Division B race sees three Democrat newcomers facing off in Kirk J. Boudreaux, Ralph Delatte Jr. and Gary Lacombe. The Division D race features incumbent Terance L. Irvin squaring off with challenger Harold L. Stewart, both Democrats.

In Donaldsonville, incumbent Mayor Leroy Sullivan faces challenges from fellow Democrats Michael McKinney and Eric “Twin” Robertson Saturday.

As in Gonzales, three of Donaldsonville’s City Council seats will be contested Saturday. In District 1, Lauthaught Delaney Sr. challenges incumbent Councilman Anthony Huey. In District 3, incumbent Reginald Francis Sr. faces opposition from Clarence Henry Jr. and Dianne Singleton. Meanwhile, District 4 incumbent Charles R. Brown will be challenged by Miquel J. Miles.

All candidates in the races are registered Democrats.

Donaldsonville voters will also vote on two amendments to the city’s home rule charter Saturday.

Three candidates look to win the seat of Justice of the Peace in the parish’s 3rd Justice Court. Incumbent Jamie Frederic Braud, a Democrat, faces fellow Democrat John C. Hebert and No Party candidate Karen Tomlinson.

The race for 2nd Justice Court Constable features three candidates – Democrats George “G.W.” Anderson of Gonzales and Richard James of Gonzales and Republican Danny P. Thibodeaux of Prairieville.

Voters living on the parish’s east bank will also decide the face of a 5 mill, 10 -year property tax.