D’ville 10U All-Stars take Babe Ruth fastpitch regional title

Staff reports
Donaldsonville’s 10u All-Stars’ softball team celebrates it Babe Ruth Fast-Pitch Southwest Regional Championship June 29 in Brusly. Donaldsonville defeated Plaquemine 2-0 in the championship final for the title.

BRUSLY - Donaldsonville’s 10u All-Stars claimed the Babe Ruth Fast-Pitch Southwest Regional Championship with a 2-0 victory over Plaquemine July 20 in the championship game.

Donaldsonville advanced to the tournament by winning the Louisiana State Championship June 29 at the South Louisiana State Fairgrounds in Donaldsonville.

“The stage was set,” said manager John Beck Jr. “Opening ceremonies were held and the girls had a great time.”

Donaldsonville defeated Hamburg, Ark., 12-0, to open the tournament Thursday morning and following with a 13-0 impressive shutout of Franklin.

The All-Stars faced their first setback since the team was formed Friday with an 8-7 loss to St. Charles forcing Donaldsonville to move to the losers bracket where they had to go through three teams Saturday to reach the finals.

Donaldsonville went on a tear beating Point Coupee, 8-2, West Side, 9-0 and avenging the earlier loss to St. Charles with a 2-1 victory to advance to the finals to face defending state and national champions, Plaquemine.

Donaldsonville handed Plaquemine its first loss of the tournament 10-0 to force a decisive final game Sunday afternoon.

In what turned out to be a pitching duel Donaldsonville defeated Plaquemine 2-0 in seven inning to claim the 10u 2008 Babe Ruth Fast-Pitch Southwest Regional Championship. 

Beck noted that Donaldsonville’s overall record is 16-1 with 10 shutouts, one perfect game and 132 runs scored compared to only 17 runs allowed.

“Congratulations to all the players, coaches, parents and to all those who helped in this teams success,” Beck said. “Thank you.”

The 2008 Southwest Regional Champions are Kirstyn Torres, Victoria Kern, Amanda Gianelloni, Grace Villa, Maggie Blanchard, Julia Beck, Emily Dupree, Sydney Falcon, Aimee Prejeant, Joneisha Smith, Sydney Bordis, Amber Blanchard and Ali Richard. They are coached by Kim Torres and Jude Richard.