ARW visits 33rd Biennial Convention

Staff Writer
Gonzales Weekly Citizen
Pictured are the Ascension Republican Women delegates to the Louisiana Federation of Republican Women 33rd Biennial Convention which was held in Baton Rouge March 29-31. From Left: Maria Fernandez, Elizabeth Harris, Darcy Rizzo, Joyce LaCour and Geri Teasley.

The Convention theme was "Let's Paint the Town Red," and banners and decorations throughout the meeting rooms reflected  this theme.

A reception on Friday evening featured music and karaoke. with DJ, Travis Rocket. Among the speakers at the convention were LAGOP Chairman, Louis Gurvich, Lt. Governor, Billy Nungesser, Congressman Ralph Abraham, La. 5th Congressional District, La. Secretary of State, Kyle Ardoin, La. State Treasurer, John Schroder, La. Insurance Commissioner, Jim Donelon and La. Agriculture Commissioner, Mike Strain.

LFRW Officers are elected at each Biennial Convention for a two year term. Wanda Aizpurua of Baton Rouge was elected LFRW President, Peggy Vidrine of Baton Rouge was elected LFRW Recording Secretary and Joyce LaCour of Ascension Parish was re-elected for a second term as LFRW Region 6 Vice President.

Visit ARW on Facebook at or e-mail at for more info.

Contributed by Joyce LaCour