AARP Legislative Committee meets with local representatives

Staff Writer
Gonzales Weekly Citizen
Front Row: Natalie Mason, Ruth Kidd, Gwen Washington, Delores Kepp and Annie Hall; Back Row: Louise Stewart, Mary McCormick, Della Irvin, Shirley Jackson, Lois Pam, and Charles Washington.

Members of Chapter 1449’s Legislative Committee, chairperson, Mary McCormick, assembled during the month of February on four occasions at the Gonzales Branch Library to meet with representatives from Ascension and St. James Parishes.

The purpose of the meetings was twofold: to introduce members to our elected representatives Rep. John Berthelot, Rep. Clay Schxenayder, Rep. Ken Brass and Sen. Edward Price, and to share with them our concerns, activities and e-mails from members.

In addition, the meetings were essential in helping the committee prepare for their visits to the Capital.

Contributed by AARP Chapter 1449 Gonzales, Louisiana