APSB honors students of the year

Halen Doughty
2017-18 DISTRICT STUDENTS OF THE YEAR - (Left to right) Twelfth Grade Student of the Year Christina Roberson of Dutchtown High, Fifth Grade Student of the Year Caleb Barrow of Dutchtown Primary, and Eighth Grade Student of the Year Matthew Lass of Prairieville Middle.

The Ascension Parish School Board honored the 2017-18 Students of the Year at its February 6 meeting at Donaldsonville High School. Awards were given to one student from each school plus one district winner for each grade level: fifth, eight, and twelfth grades.

Superintendent David Alexander gave the following remarks during the meeting: "We are so proud and honored to be able to share this moment of celebration and recognition with you. You are each amazing students, and it has been fun meeting you and seeing your energy. I know your family, teachers, and friends are proud of you. I hope you, too, are proud to be here," said Alexander.

"Continue with those commitments and priorities that allowed you to experience this honor. Your perseverance, personal discipline, and courage to overcome moments of failure and disappointment are the real award and merits of this evening. Congratulations to you, our students of the year!"

Caleb Ethan Brown is the Fifth Grade Student of the Year. The Dutchtown Primary student is active in both school and the community. He is part of Ascension Parish's Talented and Gifted Program, Robotics Club, and Junior Beta Club. He plays basketball, baseball, and soccer. Brown is also part of his church's Kidz ministry. He has won numerous awards including Principal's List, Outstanding Accelerated Reader Award, Perfect Attendance Award, and Author of the Month. He is the son of Steve and Rachael Brown.

The Eight Grade Student of the Year is Matthew Lass. He holds numerous membership and leadership roles at Prairieville Middle. Brown is a member of Beta Club, Youth Legislature, Student Council, Mathletes, 4-H, and Alpha Club. He plays in the band, as well as on the soccer and track and field teams. Lass has won awards including Second Place in the Engineering Mechanics Division at LSU's Engineering and Science Fair. He also received a Certificate of Merit from Duke's Talent Identification Program, and First Place in Weapons with a Black Belt from the Professional Karate School of America. He is the son of Jan and Jackie Lass.

Christina Robertson is the 2017-18 Twelfth Grade Student of the Year. The Dutchtown High senior has a 4.6 GPA and scored a 33 on the ACT. She is active in clubs, organizations, and the community. She mentors freshmen at her school and is a member of the National Honors Society, Beta Club, and the Poetry Slam Team. She represented Dutchtown in Girls State and placed first in the Regional Literary Rally. Among her other awards are a Certificate of Excellence for being the Outstanding Parish Citizen at Louisiana Girls State, First Place in the Website Division at National History Day in Washington, D.C., and being named an AP Scholar by the College Board. She is the daughter of Ronald and Gearuell Robertson.

The following are Ascension's Students of the Year grouped by grade level:


  • Claire Michelle Delaney, Central Primary School

  • Olivia Gabriela Puccio, Duplessis Primary School

  • Caleb Ethan Barrow, Dutchtown Primary School

  • Michael Anthony Wilson, Jr., G.W. Carver Primary School

  • Carlyle Elise Runfalo, Galvez Primary School

  • Brooklyn Elise Battle, Gonzales Primary School

  • Jillian Grace Martin, Lake Elementary School

  • Ava Leigh Vicknair, Lakeside Primary School

  • Gavin Khristopher Mitchell, Lowery Elementary School

  • Jadyn Ann Weatherly, Oak Grove Primary School

  • Christian Leann Burnett, Pecan Grove Primary School

  • Demi Marie Dubois, Prairieville Primary School

  • Ryleigh Renee Moran, Sorrento Primary School

  • Addison Rae Heinz, Spanish Lake Primary School

  • Kate Madison Rizzo, St. Amant Primary School


  • Alicia Jane Stanga, Central Middle School

  • Alexis Michel Logarbo, Dutchtown Middle School

  • Jacie Nicole Jacob, Gavlez Middle School

  • Caris B. Green, Gonzales Middle School

  • Kylie Anna Trosclair, Lake Elementary School

  • Donalynn Alayshia Daniels, Lowery Middle School

  • Matthew Corzo Lass, Prairieville Middle School

  • Mya Chrisie Bascom, St. Amant Middle School


  • Brittany Rochelle Collins, Donaldsonville High School

  • Christina Marie Robertson, Dutchtown High School

  • Lauren Elizabeth Michelli, East Ascension High School

  • Travis Daniel Braud, St. Amant High School

 Follow Halen on Twitter: @LikeVanHalen