Ascension Briefs December 21

Staff Writer
Gonzales Weekly Citizen

Prairieville native becomes LSU medalist

Twenty-four LSU seniors received University Medals for graduating with the highest undergraduate grade-point averages as part of LSU’s 294th commencement exercises on Friday, December 15. Brian McIlwain, from Prairieville, graduated with the highest GPA from the college of Engineering. Good work!

Ascension Parish's LSU 2017 graduates

Fall 2017 Honors Grads:


Jennifer Coral Tran, Summa Cum Laude

Ryan Matthew White, Cum Laude


Brooke Renee Broussard, Magna Cum Laude

Brian William McIlwain, Summa Cum Laude

Lesther Marieta Velez-Crespo, Summa Cum Laude

Fall 2017 Graduates:


Ashton Aline Glaze, Gonzales

Victoria Theresa Jones, Geismar

Ashley LeeAnne Reddicks, Prairieville

Kathryn Adele Sanders, Gonzales

Danielle Robert Thompson, Gonzales


Blake Thomas Ballard, Prairieville

Anthony Mason Bateman, Gonzales

Victoria Grace Cavalier, Gonzales

Jalpaben Chaniyara, Donaldsonville

Jacob Ryan Flieg, Prairieville

Patrick Charles Messenger, Prairieville

Lainey Arlyn Rees, Prairieville

Savannah Marie Robert, Darrow

Andrew Neil Smith, Prairieville

Kye Joseph Waguespack, Gonzales

Madison Nicole Westbrook, Saint Amant

Jonathan Joseph Wilks, Saint Amant

Patrick Michael Wink, Prairieville


Christian Stuart Danielson, Gonzales

Erlin Jose Delcid, Gonzales

Sarah Christine Ellis, Prairieville

Sean Patrick Freeman, Prairieville

Bianca Lashay Goodlow, Gonzales

Spencer Allen Janin, Prairieville

Nathanael Paul Jenkins, Prairieville

Aaron Christopher Lambert, Gonzales

Matthew Joseph LeBlanc, Prairieville

Philip Etienne LeBlanc, Jr., Prairieville

Bradon Michael LeBourgeois, Sorrento

Joshua Dale Lee, Prairieville

Brian William McIlwain, Prairieville

Brayden Paul Newchurch, Gonzales

Jonathan Joseph Petty, Prairieville

Ryan Matthew White, Gonzales


Kara Leighann Devall, Prairieville

Ayana Hope Harper, Gonzales

Madeline Nicole Kelly, Prairieville

Brooke Nicole LeBlanc, Gonzales

Ashley Joynea Newell, Geismar

Christian Logan Presley, Prairieville

Toni Tayler Rodriguez, St. Amant


Lorenzo Terrell Bennett, Gonzales

Kyra Cheron Cushenberry, Gonzales

Hannah Marie Hamilton, Prairieville

Marissa Corzo Lass, Prairieville

Alexander Louis LeGrange, Dutchtown

Christiana Marie Moses, Saint Amant

Kyla Marie Painter, Prairieville

Jordan Leigh Smith, Prairieville

Cecily Claire Stelly, Gonzales

Lesther Marieta Velez-Crespo, Prairieville

Kristen Nicole White, Geismar


Stacee Amanda Broden, Darrow

Brooke Renee Broussard, Prairieville

Tyler Joseph Savoy, Prairieville

Jennifer Coral Tran, Gonzales


Jonathan Andrew Melancon, Prairieville

James Nelson Morvant, Gonzales

Anthony Tyrone Smith, Jr., Prairieville



Brittany Marie Bourg, Donaldsonville

Andrew Barrett Hines, Geismar

Stephanie Nancy Jolissaint, Prairieville

Joseph Daniel Madere, Prairieville

Sean Cory Stewart, Prairieville

Caroline Concepcion Tolentino, Prairieville

Molly Wise Watson, Prairieville

Mark Andrew Wilson, Gonzales


Denise Marie Holston, Prairieville

Ascension Parish graduates from Northwestern State

Congratulations to the following people who graduated from Northwestern State University in Natchitoches this fall semester.

Donaldsonville – Kayla Hernandez, Bachelor of Science

Gonzales – Jesse Padgett, Eric Sulik, Associate of General Studies

Prairieville – Julianna Carmouche, Bachelor of Arts; Keith Howard, Bachelor of General Studies; Grace Brumfield, Bachelor of Science.

Local Governor's board appointments

Nelson L. Morvant, of Gonzales, was reappointed to the Capital Area Groundwater Conservation District. Morvant is a licensed professional geoscientist and a Senior Environmental Analyst at Entergy Services, Inc. As required by statute, he was nominated by and will serve as a representative of industrial water users in the district.

Randall D. Brooks, of Prairieville, was reappointed to the Louisiana Board of Drug and Device Distributors. Brooks is the Facility Manager of PetNet Solutions. As required by statute, he was nominated by the Louisiana Association of Wholesale Drug Distributors.

Troy J. Broussard, of Prairieville, was reappointed to the Board of Directors for the New Orleans Center for Creative Arts. Broussard is the Associate State Director of Advocacy and Outreach for AARP and a veteran of the United States National Guard.

Pajama Movie Night at the Library

Don’t be a cotton-headed ninny-muggins! If smiling’s your favorite, and you love spreading holiday cheer, join us at Ascension Parish Library on Pajama Movie Night for a showing of Elf. Come in your Christmas PJ’s and enjoy quality time with your family, and a nice break from the holiday hustle and bustle. Elf stars Will Ferrell, James Caan, Zooey Deschanel, and Mary Steenburgen, and is rated PJ for some mild rude humor and language. Our Pajama Movie Night will be held on Thursday, December 21 at 6 p.m. in Gonzales. This program is designed for children of all ages and their families. For more

information on this program, please contact the library in Gonzales at 647-3955, in Donaldsonville at 473-8052, in Galvez at 622-3339, or in Dutchtown at 673-8699.